

Annual Oregon Title V Operating Permit Fees

Summary

The Clean Air Act requires each state's Title V operating permit program to be fully funded by permit fees. Oregon's Title V fees include annual fees and fees for specific activities such as permit modifications. The annual fees include a base fee and emission fees. Each facility that is subject to the Title V operating permit program is required to pay Title V fees. The fees are governed by Oregon Administrative Rules 340-220-0010 through 0190. The fee rates are adjusted annually to keep pace with inflation.

Fee collection

The base fee is collected on or near August 1 of each year and allows the facility to operate from November 15 of that year until November 14 of the following year.

The emission fees are collected on or near August 1 of each year and are based on emissions of regulated pollutants for the previous calendar year.

The base fee and emission fee rates are shown in the table below. DEQ has three years from the date of collecting Title V fees to correct billings if it is found that fees were incorrectly assessed.

Invoice Year	Emission Fee Rate	Base Fee Rate
2023	\$66.10 per ton	\$8,744
2024	\$95.00 per ton	\$12,504
2025	\$121.00 per ton	\$16,002

View DEQ's Title V fee rules online

Assessable emissions

An assessable emission is the assessable tonnage of a regulated pollutant from an emissions unit, point, device, or area. The regulated pollutants that are assessed emission fees include particulates, volatile organic compounds, oxides of nitrogen and sulfur dioxides. Title V sources are required to pay fees on **all** the assessable emissions at the subject facility. Each assessable emission can be based on either permitted emissions or on actual emissions and must meet the criteria of the Title V fee rules.

Reporting assessable emissions

Title V permit holders submit an emission fee report to DEQ along with their annual report. If a fee report is not received, assessable emissions will be based on permitted emissions.



A di hadaya da ana di ka mara

Permitted emissions can be found in the review report section of the Title V permit and actual emissions can be calculated using one of the approved methods shown below.

Method #	Reporting Method	OAR
1	Permitted	340-220-0090
3	Verified Emission Factor (using 3 approved sources)	340-220-0170
4	Material Balance for VOC (for solvent)	340-220-0150
5	Material Balance for SO2 (for fuel use)	340-220-0160
6	Continuous Emission	340-220-0130

Reporting forms and instructions available online on DEQ's Title V information page.

Program name and contacts

Air Quality Division

700 NE Multnomah St., Suite 600 Portland, OR 97232 Phone: 503-229-5696, 800-452-401 Fax: 503-229-6124 Contact: Donald Hendrix, <u>donald.hendrix@deg.oregon.gov</u>

Non-discrimination statement

DEQ does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, national origin, disability, age or sex in administration of its programs or activities.

Visit DEQ's Civil Rights and Environmental Justice page.





State of Oregon Department of Environmental Quality

340-216-8020

Table 2: Air Contaminant Discharge Permit Fees

OAR 340-216-8020 Table 2 Air Contaminant Discharge Permits

An oontaininant Bioonargo i onnito				
Part 1. Initial Permitting Application Fees: (in addition to first annual fee)				
Short Term Activ	\$4,500.00			
Basic ACI	OP	\$180.00		
Assignment to Ger	neral ACDP ¹	\$1,800.00		
Simple AC	DP	\$9,000.00		
Construction	ACDP	\$14,400.00		
Standard A	\$18,000.00			
Standard ACDP (Major NSR	or Type A State NSR)	\$63,000.00		
1. DEQ may waive the assignment fee for an existing source requesting to be assigned to a General ACDP because the source is subject to a newly adopted area source NESHAP as long as the existing source requests assignment within 90 days of notification by DEQ.				
Part 2. Annual Fees: (Due date	e 12/1 ¹ for 1/1 to 12/31 of the	e following year)		
(applic	able July 1, 2022)			
Registration – Motor vehicle su	\$288.00			
Registration - Dry cleaners using perchloroethylene		\$216.00		
Short Term Activity ACDP		\$0		
	(A) #1-7 OAR 340-216-8010 Table 1 Part A	\$648.00		
Basic ACDP	(B) #8-9			
	OAR 340-216-8010 Table 1 Part A	\$1,469.00		
General ACDP	(A) Fee Class One	\$1,469.00		
	(B) Fee Class Two	\$2,644.00		
	(C) Fee Class Three	\$3,818.00		
	(D) Fee Class Four	\$734.00		

OAR 340-216-8020 Table 2 Air Contaminant Discharge Permits			
	\$245.00		
	(F) Fee Class Six	\$490.00	
Simple ACDP	(A) Low Fee	\$3,917.00	
	(B) High Fee	\$7,834.00	
Standard A	CDP	\$15,759.00	
Greenhouse Gas Reporting, as required by OAR chapter 340, Division 215		7.31% of the applicable ACDP annual fee in Part 2	
Part 3. Cleaner Air Oregon Annual Fees: (Due date 12/1 ¹ for 1/1 to 12/31 of the following year)			
	(A) #1-7		
Basic ACDP	OAR 340-216-8010 Table 1 Part A	\$156.00	
Basic ACDF	(B) #8-9		
	OAR 340-216-8010 Table 1 Part A	\$311.00	
	(A) Fee Class One	\$310.00	
	(B) Fee Class Two	\$560.00	
General ACDP	(C) Fee Class Three	\$810.00	
General ACDr	(D) Fee Class Four	\$156.00	
	(E) Fee Class Five	\$52.00	
	(F) Fee Class Six	\$103.00	
	(A) Low Fee	\$830.00	
Simple ACDP	(B) High Fee	\$1,660.00	
Standard A	\$3,322.00		
1. DEQ may extend the payment due date for dry cleaners or gasoline dispensing facilities until March 1st.			
Part 4. Specific Activity Fees:			
Notice of Intent to Construct Type 2 ¹ \$			

OAR 340-216-8020 Table 2 Air Contaminant Discharge Permits			
Permit Modification	(A) Non-Technical	\$432.00	
	(B) Basic Technical	\$540.00	
	(C) Simple Technical	\$1,800.00	
	(D) Moderate Technical	\$9,000.00	
	(E) Complex Technical	\$18,000.00	
	(A) Non-Technical	\$445.00	
Tovio Air Contominant	(B) Basic Technical	\$445.00	
Toxic Air Contaminant Permit Addendum	(C) Simple Technical	\$1,483.00	
Modification	(D) Moderate Technical	\$7,416.00	
	(E) Complex Technical	\$14,873.00	
Major NSR or Type A State	\$63,000.00		
Modeling Review (outside Major NSR or Type A State NSR)		\$9,000.00	
Public Hearing at Source's Request		\$3,600.00	
State MACT Determination		\$9,000.00	
Compliance Orde	er Monitoring ²	\$180.00/month	
Part 5. La	ate Fees:		
8-30 days late		5%	
31-60 days late		10%	
61 or more days late		20%	
1. The Type 2 Notice of Intent to Construct does not apply to existing Basic ACDP or General ACDP sources.			
2. This is a one-time fee payable when a compliance order is established in a permit or a DEQ order containing a compliance schedule becomes a final order of DEQ and is based on the number of months DEQ will have to oversee the order.			

NOTE: See history of this table under OAR 340-216-0020.



State of Oregon Department of Environmental Quality

340-216-8030

Table 3: Cleaner Air Oregon Specific Activity Fees

OAR 340-216-8030 Table 3 Cleaner Air Oregon Specific Activity Fees					
Permit Type				Туре	
#	ACTIVITY	Title V	Standard ACDP	Simple ACDP	General or Basic ACDP
1	Existing Source Call-In Fee	\$10,300	\$10,300	\$1,030	\$515
2	New Source Consulting Fee	\$12,360	\$12,360	\$1,957	\$1,030
3	Submittal Document Modification Fee	\$2,575	\$2,575	\$515	\$258
	Risk Asses	ssment Fee	s		
4	Level 1 Risk Assessment - de minimis (no permit required)	\$1,545	\$1,545	\$1,030	\$824
5	Level 1 Risk Assessment – not de minimis	\$2,060	\$2,060	\$1,545	\$1,133
6	Level 2 Risk Assessment - de minimis (no permit required)	\$3,193	\$3,193	\$2,369	\$2,060
7	Level 2 Risk Assessment – not de minimis	\$3,708	\$3,708	\$2,884	\$2,369
8	Level 3 Risk Assessment - de minimis (no permit required)	\$9,064	\$8.446	\$5,459	\$4,635
9	Level 3 Risk Assessment – not de minimis	\$20.497	\$11,639	\$7,931	\$6,489
10	Level 4 Risk Assessment - de minimis (no permit required)	\$22,042	\$19,055	\$12.051	NA
11	Level 4 Risk Assessment – not de minimis	\$35,638	\$26,574	\$15,965	NA
Risk Above Risk Action Levels					
12	Risk Reduction Plan Fee	\$6,901	\$6,901	\$2,678	\$2,678
13	Air Monitoring Plan Fee (includes risk assessment)	\$25,900	\$25,900	NA	NA
14	Postponement of Risk Reduction Fee	\$4,532	\$4,532	\$4,532	\$2,060

OAR 340-216-8030 Table 3 Cleaner Air Oregon Specific Activity Fees					
			Permit	Туре	-
#	ACTIVITY	Title V	Standard ACDP	Simple ACDP	General or Basic ACDP
15	TBACT/TLAER Review (per Toxic Emissions Unit and type of toxic air contaminant)	\$3,090	\$3,090	\$1,545	\$1,545
	Othe	r Fees			
16	TEU Risk Assessment – no permit mod	\$1,030	\$1,030	\$515	\$515
17	TEU Risk Assessment – permit mod	\$4,120	\$4,120	\$2,060	\$1,030
18	Level 2 Modeling review only for TEU approval	\$1,957	\$1,339	\$824	\$721
19	Level 3 Modeling review only for TEU approval	\$3,914	\$3,914	\$3,605	\$3,605
20	Community Engagement Meeting Fee – high	\$8,240	\$8,240	\$8,240	\$8,240
21	Community Engagement Meeting Fee – medium	\$4,120	\$4,120	\$4,120	\$4,120
22	Community Engagement Meeting Fee - low	\$1,030	\$1,030	\$1,030	\$1,030
23	Source Test Review Fee (plan and data review) - complex	\$6,180	\$6,180	\$6,180	\$6,180
24	Source Test Review Fee (plan and data review) – moderate	\$4,326	\$4,326	\$4,326	\$4,326
25	Source Test Review Fee (plan and data review) – simple	\$1,442	\$1,442	\$1,442	\$1,442

