SUBCOMMITTEE RECOMMENDATION

HB 2558

Relating to activities regulated by the State Marine Board

To: Ways and Means Full Committee
From: Natural Resources Subcommittee
Carrier: Representative Owens

HB 2558 modifies the outfitter and guide registration fee structure administered

by the Oregon State Marine Board.

The Outfitters and Guides Program licenses individuals who take customers for
hire into Oregon’s outdoors for fishing, hunting, and other recreational activities.
The program manages over 1,300 outfitter guides and 70 charter operators
statewide, and requires licensees to meet insurance, bonding, and safety

certification standards.

The measure establishes a uniform annual registration fee of $S500 for all charter
guides and $350 for all other outfitter guides. Additionally, it establishes a new $50
registration fee for crew members and increases the maximum civil penalty for

certain statutory violations from $500 to $1,000.

By adjusting these registration fees, the measure is anticipated to increase Other

Funds revenue to support program administration and enforcement.

The Natural Resources Subcommittee recommends HB 2558 be reported out do

pass.
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