HB 2558 A STAFF MEASURE SUMMARY

Joint Committee On Ways and Means

Prepared By:Twais Broadus, Fiscal AnalystMeeting Dates:5/7, 5/16

WHAT THE MEASURE DOES:

The measure modifies the outfitter and guide registration fee structure administered by the Oregon State Marine Board (OSMB) by replacing the current resident/non-resident fee model with a uniform fee schedule. The measure sets an annual registration fee of \$500 for charter guides and \$350 for all other outfitters and guides, regardless of state residency. It establishes a new \$50 annual registration fee for crew members and authorizes OSMB to collect this fee annually or biennially. The measure also increases the maximum civil penalty for violations of applicable statutes from \$500 to \$1,000.

ISSUES DISCUSSED:

Fiscal impact of the measure

EFFECT OF AMENDMENT:

No amendment.

BACKGROUND:

The Outfitter and Guide Program was first established in 1984. The program focuses on registering outfitters (business entities) and guides (individuals) and requires liability protection for clients. The Oregon State Marine Board registers outfitters and guides annually to ensure compliance with legal requirements, including liability coverage, training certifications, and, when applicable, federal licensing or bonding. Outfitters and guides are issued an annual registration card which they are required to carry. Under current law, Oregon imposes an annual registration fee of \$150 for resident outfitters and guides. For non-residents, the registration fee is equivalent to the amount charged by the outfitter's home state.