## FISCAL IMPACT OF PROPOSED LEGISLATION



Legislative Fiscal Office 83<sup>rd</sup> Oregon Legislative Assembly 2025 Regular Session

Prepared by:MaryMichelle SosneReviewed by:Steve Robbins, Matt Stayner, John Borden, Amanda BeitelDate:May 12, 2025

**Bill Title:** Relating to driving while under the influence of intoxicants; prescribing an effective date.

**Government Unit(s) Affected:** Judicial Department, Oregon Health Authority, Department of Justice, Counties, Criminal Justice Commission

## **Summary of Fiscal Impact**

Costs related to the measure are indeterminate at this time - see explanatory analysis.

### **Measure Description**

The measure increases the cost for court ordered screening interviews from \$150 to \$250. Additionally, the measure broadens the applicable use of funds in the Intoxicated Driver Program Fund to include paying for screening interviews or driving while under the influence of intoxicant (DUII) education programs for indigent defendants The cost for a screening interview is limited to no more than \$100, per indigent defendant per screening interview. The measure takes effect on the 91st day after sine die.

## **Fiscal Analysis**

# **Oregon Health Authority**

The fiscal impact of the measure is indeterminate as the projected cost for screening interviews and DUII education programs for indigent defendants is unknown. The Intoxicated Driver Program Fund (IDPF) may require additional funding to support these new costs, however, the IDPF relies on funding from the Criminal Fines Account (CFA) which supports several other programs and agencies. Any adjustments to CFA allocations may impact other state agency budgets that also rely on CFA allocations for funding. Absent a sufficient CFA allocation, the supported activities directed under this measure may become a General Fund obligation.

### **Other Entities**

The measure has a minimal fiscal impact on the Oregon Justice Department and no fiscal impact on the Criminal Justice Commission, the Department of Justice, or counties.

### **Relevant Dates**

The measure takes effect on the 91st day after sine die.