SB 360 -1 STAFF MEASURE SUMMARY

House Committee On Agriculture, Land Use, Natural Resources, and Water

Prepared By: Anna Glueder, LPRO Analyst

Meeting Dates: 5/5, 5/19

WHAT THE MEASURE DOES:

The measure exempts employees using a battery-powered device to apply pesticides from certain pesticide licensing requirements and requires the Department of Agriculture to develop standards and training materials to safely apply pesticides using machine-powered devices.

Detailed Summary:

Exempts employees of agencies, instrumentalities, subdivisions, counties, cities, towns, municipal corporations, districts, governmental bodies, Indian tribes, or utilities from holding a public applicator license or a certificate as a public trainee when applying pesticides using a machine powered device if:

- pesticide is not restricted use,
- device is powered by electric battery and holds no more than five gallons of pesticides, and
- employee has completed training.

Requires the Oregon Department of Agriculture (ODA) to develop standards and training materials to safely apply pesticides using machine-powered devices. Requires an employer to provide training to employee prior to the employee using the machine-powered device. Authorizes ODA to take any action necessary to implement Act prior to its effective date. Takes effect on the 91st day following adjournment sine die.

FISCAL: Has minimal fiscal impact REVENUE: No revenue impact

SENATE VOTE: Ayes 25; Nays 3; Excused 2

ISSUES DISCUSSED:

EFFECT OF AMENDMENT:

-1 The amendment excludes application on school campuses from exemption. It further requires employers to provide training to employees, create and maintain records of such training, and make the records available to the Oregon Department of Agriculture upon request.

FISCAL: Has minimal fiscal impact REVENUE: No revenue impact

BACKGROUND:

Current law defines abandoned vessels as those left on state land or waterways for an extended period of time without authorization, with specific rules on how long vessels can remain in one location. Recreational vessels can stay for up to 30 consecutive days before needing to move at least five miles away for 12 months, while commercial vessels must move after 14 days. Derelict vessels are those in poor condition that may pose safety, environmental, or navigational risks. The Department of State Lands oversees a statewide program to manage abandoned and derelict vessels, with funding aimed at holding owners accountable for removal.