SB 94 -1, -2, -3, -4 STAFF MEASURE SUMMARY

Joint Committee On Transportation

Prepared By:Patrick Brennan, LPRO AnalystMeeting Dates:3/10, 5/5

WHAT THE MEASURE DOES:

The measure establishes a maximum allowable weight limit of 129,000 pounds for vehicles carrying liquid milk products.

ISSUES DISCUSSED:

- Carrying heavier weights is more economical
- Would make Oregon competitive with other states that have enacted similar regulations
- Possible benefits to climate change mitigation
- Weight-limited routes cause delays and added costs
- Whether goal can be accomplished without legislation
- Limited number of routes could handle loads at higher weights

EFFECT OF AMENDMENT:

-1 Replaces original measure. Clarifies that the new weigh limits applies if all the following criteria are met:

- Transferring fluid milk products to or from a farm, milk plant, receiving station, or transfer station.
- Vehicle equipped with a double trailer length of 85 feet or less.
- Vehicle does not exceed the maximum allowable weight per axle as outlined in ORS 818.010.
- Vehicle is traveling on one of several specified routes.

Directs Department of Transportation to submit a report to the Joint Committee on Transportation no later than September 15 of each even-numbered year; sunsets reporting requirement on January 2, 2031.

FISCAL: Fiscal statement issued on measure w/the -3 amendment

REVENUE: Indeterminate revenue impact w/the -1 amendment

-2 Replaces original measure. Clarifies that the new weigh limits applies if all the following criteria are met:

- Transferring fluid milk products to or from a farm, milk plant, receiving station, or transfer station.
- Vehicle equipped with a double trailer length of 85 feet or less.
- Vehicle does not exceed the maximum allowable weight per axle as outlined in ORS 818.010.
- Vehicle is traveling on pilot route proscribed by rule under section 5 of this Act.

Sunsets provisions related to ilk truck weight limits on January 2, 2031. Directs the Oregon Department of Transportation to establish a five-year pilot program to test the allowance of vehicles weighing up to 129,000 pounds that are transporting fluid milk products on a limited number of highways in Oregon. Authorizes Department to issue permits to such vehicles and directs Department to prioritize routes that connect to bordering states and to farms, milk plants, receiving stations, or transfer stations for fluid milk products. Directs Department to study impacts of such vehicles on highways, bridges, and pavement conditions on the routes included in the pilot program. Specifies that findings are to be reported, including potential expansion onto additional routes and for additional commodities. Directs Department to submit a report to JCT by September 15 of each even-numbered year; sunsets reporting requirement on January 2, 2031.

FISCAL: Fiscal statement issued on measure w/the -3 amendment

REVENUE: Indeterminate revenue impact on measure w/the -2 amendment

-3 The amendment replaces the original measure. It directs the Oregon Department of Transportation (ODOT) to conduct a study and prepare a subsequent report on increasing vehicle weight limits for milk trucks, including

assessments on infrastructure impacts, economic impacts, length as a factor for legal weights and alignments, and parking and staging infrastructure in the State for oversize loads. The amendment also requires a strategic implementation plan for a phased approach through a pilot program, as well as recommendations supporting informed evaluation of increasing maximum weight limits for divisible and non-divisible loads. The amendment requires a report to the Oregon Transportation Commission (OTC) on the study by September 15, 2028. This section sunsets on January 2, 2029.

The amendment further directs ODOT, following completion of the study, to establish a heavy vehicle pilot program to issue permits allowing commercial milk vehicles as heavy as 129,000 pounds to operate on approved routes. It allows ODOT to suspend or revoke permits for violation of the limitations, and directs the Department to submit a report on pilot program results to the OTC and Joint Committee on Transportation by September 15 2030. This section sunsets January 2 2032.

The amendment takes effect on the 91st day following adjournment sine die.

FISCAL: Fiscal statement issued on measure w/the -3 amendment *REVENUE:* Minimal revenue impact on measure w/the -3 amendment

-4 the amendment copies the -3 but makes establishment of the pilot program optional and revises reporting requirements.

FISCAL: REVENUE:

BACKGROUND:

Oregon Revised Statutes chapter 818 outlines the maximum allowable size of all types of vehicles that travel on public roads in the state. These limits are generally calculated by the number of axles of the transport vehicle, as well as the distance between the first and last axle on the vehicle. Violation of these statutory maximums is punishable as a Class A traffic violation, with fines determined by the amount of excess weight. Certain vehicles are exempted from these weight limits or are subject to a separate weight schedule that most vehicles; in addition, a vehicle operator may obtain a variance permit from the Oregon Department of Transportation that allows operation of vehicles that exceed weight, size or other related requirements.