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Ul Eligibility Overview

Enough recent work
« Earned $1,000 or worked 500 hours during the 'base period'

Benefit amounts are based on these earnings

No disqualifying events
« Quitting or not accepting work without '‘good cause'
« Being fired for misconduct

Meet Weekly Eligibility Requirements
* Able to work
 Available to work
 Actively seeking work




Unemployment Insurance - Income Replacement

m Unemployment Insurance Benefits

Weekly Pay* Weekly m % of Weekly Pay WBA benchmark

$15,680 $301 $196 $5,096 65% Minimum WBA claim
$45,360 $872 $567 $14,742 65% Current Average claim
$66,880 $1,286 $836 $21,736 65% Maximum WBA Claim
$80,000 $1,538 $836 $21,736 54% -
$100,000 $1,923 $836 $21,736 43% -

. Week|y Pay: Base year divided by 52 weeks *Rounded down to nearest whole dollar.

 Weekly Benefit Amount (WBA): 1.25% of base year wages

« Maximum Benefit Amount (MBA): lesser of 26 times weekly
benefit amount or 1/3 of base year wages
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Federal-state partnership

If Oregon conforms to federal requirements:

* Oregon employers receive a 5.4% credit toward their federal payroll
(FUTA) taxes; this saves Oregon employers over $500 million a year in
FUTA taxes

« U.S. Department of Labor provides an administrative grant to operate
the Ul program (covers about 50-70% of the cost of administration)

States must use 'experience rating' to determine employers’
Unemployment Insurance (Ul) tax rates

The top Ul tax rate cannot be lower than 5.4%




Taxpaying and Reimbursing Employers

Taxpaying
Employers

Most employers

Pay Ul taxes based on their payroll

Can get ‘relief of charges’ in some
circumstances

Reimbursing
Employers

State of Oregon

‘Political subdivisions,” nonprofits, and
Tribes may elect to be reimbursing

Do not pay Ul payroll taxes

Reimburse the Ul Trust Fund 100% for
Ul payments

Cannot get ‘relief of charges’
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Oregon’s Ul Tax Rate Schedules

5.4% 5.4% 5.4% 5.4% 5.4% 5.4% 5.4% 5.4%

Base Rate —
3.3% for new

employers

Low Exp. Rated Emp. --------- High Exp. Rated Emp.

Best Economic Times --------------------------——--————-—- Worst Economic Times
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Oregon's Unemployment Insurance Trust Fund is Solvent

B August 31 Adjusted Trust Fund Balance e Fund Adequacy Percentage Ratio s «@e« Ul Tax Schedule
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The Ul tax schedule

is determined by

the Fund Adequacy
Percentage Ratio (ORS
657.459).

Oregon’s schedules

are designed to

provide sufficient
reserves to cover 18
months of a recession.
Schedule 4 is the
equilibrium (145%-170%
ratio).

Tax rates are sent

to individual businesses
in mid-November

(ORS 657.485)
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Experience rating

* Federal law requires Ul tax rates to be based on experience rating

» Experience rating does not change the tax schedule, it determines
the rate within a schedule

« Experience rating is Ul benefit charges divided by taxable payroll
(ORS 657.462)

oRelief of charges is when some benefits are not included in this
computation

» Experience rating is based on charges and payroll for the 12 prior
calendar quarters




Implementation of SB 916A

« Law would take effect on January 1, 2026

* Timeline for Ul benefits:
 First week of strike: Striking workers are disqualified from benefits
« Second week of strike: Regular waiting week
 Third week of strike: Claimants can receive benefits

* Backpay treated as a non-waivable overpayment
 Voluntary repayment is preferred

* If voluntary repayment is not made, other collection methods will be
used




Fiscal Impact - 10 Year Lookback Period

 Assumptions:
» Average strike duration of 8.6 weeks

« 888 employees on strike each week, with all employees receiving
benefits

* 45% of workers from reimbursing employers and 55% from
taxpaying employers

» Estimated benefits:

« $2.6 M for taxpaying employers for 2025-2027 biennium

« $2.1 M for reimbursing employers for 2025-2027 biennium
* No projected change to Ul tax schedules




Fiscal Impact - 3 Year Lookback Period

 Assumptions:
» Average strike duration of 6.3 weeks

» 2,805 employees on strike each week, with all employees
receiving benefits.

* 53% of workers from reimbursing employers and 47% from
taxpaying employers

 Estimated benefits:

« $5.3 M for taxpaying employers for 2025-2027 biennium

« $5.9 M for reimbursing employers for 2025-2027 biennium
* No projected change to Ul tax schedules
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