Memorandum

PREPARED FOR: Senate Committee on Rules

DATE: March 27, 2025

BY: Leslie Porter, Legislative Analyst

RE: Legislative Review of Executive Appointments



OREGON CRIMINAL JUSTICE COMMISSION

The Governor has appointed the following individuals to the Oregon Criminal Justice Commission subject to Senate confirmation.¹

New Appointees

Holly Harris of Bend Christopher Parosa of Eugene

Terms

May 1, 2025 - April 30, 2029

Appointment/Confirmation Authority

ORS 137.654 (2023)

Statement of Economic Interest²

Not required.

$\textbf{Composition}^3$

The commission consists of nine members:

- seven appointed by the Governor, one of whom is appointed as the chair, and no more than four of which are the same political party (BEACH (N/A), FREEMAN (R), HARRIS (D), MACPHERSON (N/A), NORTON (N/R), PAROSA (D), SOLOMON (D));
- one senator, appointed by the President of the Senate, nonvoting; (PROZANSKI); and
- one representative, appointed by the Speaker of the House of Representatives, nonvoting (LEWIS).

Members serve four-year terms, at the pleasure of their appointing authority (or until the end of a legislative member's legislative term, whichever occurs first). Members are eligible for reappointment but may serve no more than two consecutive terms.

¹ Or. Const. art. III sect. 4, ORS 171.562 (2023) and 171.565 (2023).

² ORS 244.050 (2023).

³ ORS 137.654 (2023); ORS 182.100 (2023) for affirmative action policy; ORS 236.115 (2023) for diversity criteria.

Duties⁴

The primary duty of the commission is to develop and maintain a criminal justice policy and a comprehensive, long-range plan for a coordinated state criminal justice system encompassing public safety, offender accountability, crime reduction and prevention, and offender treatment and rehabilitation. Its duties include

- conducting joint studies by agreement with other state entities on any matter within its jurisdiction;
- serving as a clearinghouse for the collection, preparation, analysis, and dissemination of information on state and local sentencing practices and best practices applicable to drug court programs;
- providing technical assistance and support to local public safety coordinating councils;
- receiving grant applications to start or expand drug court programs and making rules to govern the administration of grant programs and funds;
- preparing racial and ethnic impact statements for proposed legislation;
- amending criminal sentencing guidelines and submitting proposed amendments to the Legislative Assembly for approval; and
- at the direction of the chair, creating committees within the commission.

⁴ ORS 137.656 to 137.685 (2023).



LEGISLATIVE POLICY AND RESEARCH OFFICE

Criminal Justice Commission, Oregon

Agency: Criminal Justice Commission

Authorization: ORS 137.654

Min Members: 9 Max Members: 9

Term Length: 4 Term Limit: 2

Senate Confirmation Required?: Yes

Policy Area: Public Safety

Board Admin: Ken Sanchagrin

Address:

Criminal Justice Commission

885 Summer Street NE

Salem, OR 97301 971-719-6000

Ken.SANCHAGRIN@cjc.oregon.gov

Current Appointments

Mr Solomon, Paul J

Democrat

Position Number: 1

DA Parosa, Christopher

Democrat

Position Number: 2

Macpherson, Carl IV

Unaffiliated

Position Number: 3

Mr Freeman, Timothy "Tim" J

Republican

Position Number: 4

Harris, Holly

Unaffiliated

Position Number: 5

Democrat

Ms Beach, Jessica L

Position Number: 6

Ms Norton, Elizabeth "Lisa" M

Not Registered

Position Number: 7

Rep. Lewis, Rick

State Rep

Position Number: 8

Term(s):

2/18/2024 - 2/17/2028

9/28/2022 - 2/17/2024

5/1/2025 - 4/30/2029

Term(s):

Term(s):

10/5/2023 - 10/4/2027

Term(s):

2/18/2024 - 2/17/2028

9/28/2022 - 2/17/2024

5/1/2025 - 4/30/2029

Term(s):

Term(s):

12/13/2024 - 12/12/2028

12/13/2020 - 12/12/2024

9/28/2018 - 12/12/2020

Term(s):

10/5/2023 - 11/18/2025

Term(s):

	Senator Prozanski, Floyd Senator	Term(s):	-
Position Number: 9	Senate President's Appointment		
	Position Number: 9		

Vacant Positions