HB 2900 -2 STAFF MEASURE SUMMARY

House Committee On Education

Prepared By: Chris Bechtel, LPRO Fellow **Meeting Dates:** 2/10, 4/7

WHAT THE MEASURE DOES:

This measure modifies the definition of a contract teacher, probationary teacher, and program of assistance for improvement. This measure modifies the required probationary period for teachers who completed three years of probation in another Oregon school district to one year or less. It also requires school districts to provide probationary teachers who already completed three years of probation in another Oregon school district with notice of performance deficiencies and a 60-day program of assistance for improvement, and allows school districts to decide after the 60-day program whether or not to renew a probationary teacher's contract.

Fiscal impact: May have fiscal impact, but no statement yet issued. Revenue impact: May have revenue impact, but no statement yet issued.

ISSUES DISCUSSED:

- Barriers for probationary teachers
- Impacts on teachers
- Technical changes

EFFECT OF AMENDMENT:

-2 The amendment replaces the measure. It modifies the definition of a contract teacher to include teachers who have been employed in a fair dismissal district for at least two years and already completed the probationary period. The amendment allows school boards to enter into contracts of at least a one year with teachers who have completed the three-year probationary period in another Oregon school district and who have been retained for the next school year. The amendment removes the provisions of the bill relating to programs of assistance for improvement.

BACKGROUND:

Under <u>current law</u>, a fair dismissal school district board can choose whether or not to enter into agreements that provide shorter probationary periods to teachers who have already completed three years of probation in another school district. Current law also allows school boards to discharge or refuse a contract renewal of a probationary teacher for any good faith reason. When a school district board discharges a probationary teacher, the school district board must provide a written copy of the reasons for the dismissal and provide a hearing if the discharged teacher requests a hearing. When the school district board refuses to renew a contract, the school district board must provide notice of the non-renewal by March 15, and upon request by the probationary teacher only has a right to appeal for the procedures at the hearing, if the school district board provided the written reasons for the non-renewal. The probationary teacher only has a right to appeal for the procedures at the hearing, if the school district board provided the written reasons for the dismissal, or in the case of a non-renewal, the notice was not given in time.