SB 315 -1 STAFF MEASURE SUMMARY

Senate Committee On Education

Prepared By: Chris Bechtel, LPRO Fellow

Meeting Dates: 3/10, 4/7

WHAT THE MEASURE DOES:

The measure requires the Oregon Department of Education (ODE) to review and make recommendations related to state requirements for determining if a student is actively enrolled after they have 10 or more consecutive absences. The measure establishes considerations for the review and recommendations. It requires ODE to submit a report to the Legislative Assembly and State Board of Education summarizing the review, recommendations made, and recommendations for statutory or administrative rule changes. The measure requires ODE to develop a common coding system for student absences, outlines requirements for the system, and requires school districts to implement the system by the 2026-2027 school year.

Fiscal impact: May have fiscal impact, but no statement yet issued.

Revenue impact: May have revenue impact, but no statement yet issued.

ISSUES DISCUSSED:

- Current data collection regarding the 10 consecutive days
- Timeframe of the report and data collection

EFFECT OF AMENDMENT:

-1 Replaces the measure. The amendment requires requires ODE to review and make recommendations for recording of student absences by school districts and school districts' responses to student absences that exceed 10 days. It requires ODE to develop a common coding system for school districts to record and report student absences. It requires ODE to submit a report to the Oregon Legislature and the State Board of Education summarizing the review, the recommendations, and best practices of recording attendance, summarizing the common coding system developed, and recommending any additional changes in administrative rules and additional legislation.

BACKGROUND:

In the 2023-2024 school year, the <u>Oregon Department of Education</u> (ODE) reported that 66 percent of students were regular attenders, or students who attended at least 90 percent of classes. Prior to the Covid-19 pandemic, for 2018-2019 school year, ODE reported that 79.6 percent of all students were regular attenders. According to the <u>National Center for Education Statistics</u>, poor attendance can lead to poorer performance in subsequent years and that high school dropouts missed more days of school in first grade than their peers who graduated high school.

Under OAR 581-023-0006, if a student is absent for 10 or more consecutive days, the student will be unenrolled from the active enrollment. Students will be re-enrolled after returning to school resetting the 10 consecutive days. Active roll means the list of students enrolled and attending the school or program during the year. According to the <u>Oregon Department of Education</u>, the policy is not meant to be a punishment, but for compliance with state funding guidelines. The administrative rule was repealed during the COVID-19 pandemic, but later reinstated.