83rd Oregon Legislative Assembly — 2025 Regular Session

HB 2380 -1,-4 STAFF MEASURE SUMMARY

House Committee On Commerce and Consumer Protection

Prepared By: Andrew Hendrie, LPRO Analyst
Sub-Referral To: Joint Committee On Ways and Means
Meeting Dates: 2/25, 4/3

WHAT THE MEASURE DOES:

This measure creates a provisional certificate to be offered by the board of cosmetology so that a provisional
certificate holder can work under the supervision of a certificate holder. Takes effect on 91st day following
adjournment sine die.

Detailed Summary

Section 1
This act amends ORS 690.005 to ORS 690.225
Section 2

The board of cosmetology must adopt rules to allow a holder of a provisional certificate to work under the
supervision of a certificate holder. Must adopt a process for the Health Licensing Office to issue a provisional
certificate. Must adopt a process to enable a practitioner to supervise the holder of a provisional certificate. A
provisional certificate must not be renewed, a holder must only practice in the field they have a provisional
certificate for, and may hold multiple provisional certificates. Supervised hours must be equal to educational
hours applied to the requirement for the issuance of a certificate. Supervisors of provisional certificate holders
can't be required to pay a fee to supervise. The board may adopt other rules to carry out this section.

Section 3
Adda a provisional license holder to those that could have authorization from the Health Licensing Office.
Section 4

Defines provisional certificate as a written authorization to perform in a field under the supervision of someone
with a certificate.

Section 5
Conforming amendments to ORS 690.035
Section 6

The bill becomes operative date of January 1, 2026. Enables the board to take action to be ready to for the bill to
be operative.

Section 7
Takes effect on 91st day following adjournment sine die.
ISSUES DISCUSSED:

EFFECT OF AMENDMENT:

-1 The amendment makes it a requirement that the applicant's address be 50 miles away from a school that that
offers a program to be eligible for a provisional certificate.
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-4 The amendment adds requirements for a practitioner that is going to supervise a holder of a provisional
certificate. A practitioner must have 5 years' experience with the active certificate they hold and no pending
disciplinary action. an applicant for a provision certificate must pay a fee. the amendment has a new operative
date of January 1, 2027. declares an emergency, effective on passage.

BACKGROUND:

Board of Cosmetology regulates barbers, estheticians, hair designers, nail technologists, and natural hair care. The
Board of Cosmetology consists of seven members appointed by the governor: six certified practitioners with valid
certificates and one public member who is not a practitioner

The Health Licensing Office (HLO) protects the health, safety and rights of Oregon consumers by ensuring only
qualified applicants are authorized to practice. HLO establishes, communicates and ensures compliance of
regulatory standards for multiple health and related professions. HLO conducts inspections of licensed facilities,
responds to and investigates consumer complaints, and disciplines practitioners found in violation of state law
and administrative rule. The Office oversees licensing and regulation of multiple health and related professions
represented by 16 volunteer citizen boards, councils and programs.

ORS chapter 690 is the statutory chapter that regulates cosmetic professionals.
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