HB 2359 STAFF MEASURE SUMMARY

House Committee On Education

Prepared By:Chris Bechtel, LPRO FellowSub-Referral To:Joint Committee On Ways and MeansMeeting Dates:3/26, 4/2

WHAT THE MEASURE DOES:

The measure prevents high schools and public charter high schools from starting before 8:30 am, unless the school is exempt as a rural school by rule from the State Board of Education. It requires the Oregon Department of Education to provide technical assistance and grants to transition schools and districts to meet the high school start time requirement. The measure becomes operative on July 1, 2027.

Fiscal impact: May have fiscal impact, but no statement yet issued Revenue impact: May have revenue impact, but no statement yet issued

ISSUES DISCUSSED:

- School start times impacts on students
- Affects on local school clubs
- School districts that have already transitioned beyond 8:30
- Local control over start times
- Collective bargaining agreements

EFFECT OF AMENDMENT:

No amendment.

BACKGROUND:

According to the <u>U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention</u>, between 2009 and 2021, the percentage of high school students who did not get eight hours of sleep increased from 69 percent to 77 percent. According to a <u>2022 study on school start times</u>, moving school start times improves behavioral developmental outcomes and less negative mood. In addition, a <u>systemic review</u> conducted in 2016 found that later start times are associated with increased total sleep duration, lower weekday-weekend differences in sleep duration, and reduced daytime sleepiness.

Under <u>current law</u>, Oregon school district boards are responsible for establishing the days and hours of the day when schools must be in session. Several large districts in the state, including Portland Public Schools, Beaverton School District, and Salem-Keizer School District, have high school start times of 8:30 am or 8:45 am.