
SB 853
OREGON RACING 

COMMISSION



PROBLEM: RIGHT NOW, 
OREGON IS LOSING MONEY 

ON EVERY RACING LICENSE. 

HERE’S HOW WE FIX THIS.



How much are we charging and what is the 
max we can charge under statute? 

Fees are significantly 
less than those in our 

neighbor states. 

Currently, we charge 
$20 a year with a 
maximum of all 

licenses at $30 per 
year by statute.



Costs are more than the fees

STAFFING

SUPPLIES

DATABASE

BACKGROUND CHECKS



Washington
Plus $10.00 for fingerprints 

Exercise 
Rider: $96 Jockey $96 Owner: $96

Trainer 
Assistant: 

$77

Veterinarian: 
$146



CALIFORNIA

Owner $150 Trainer $150 Jockey: $150

Veterinarian: 
$150

Pony Rider: 
$75



Our solution

Provide a tiered system to allow for different classes of 
licenses like California and Washington. These fees will 
be from $25.00 to $125.00 annually.

▪ Maximum annual licensing 
fee will be set in statute at 
$150. 



Additional fees for online wagering

• Increase the Online Wagering 
daily fees by $25.00 (25%).

Currently we increase fees 
automatically on handle at 2.5% 
per year and we charge a daily 
licensing fee of $200.00.



QUESTIONS?

• Connie Winn

• Executive Director

• Oregon Racing Commission
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