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WHAT THE MEASURE DOES:
The measure modifies the tuition waiver available for dependents of disabled or deceased service members and
Purple Heart recipients. It raises the age by which a dependent child can apply for the waiver from 23 to 31 and
allows an exemption to the age limit for anyone qualifying for the federal Survivors' and Dependents' Educational
Assistance (DEA) program. The measure takes effect on the 91st day after adjournment sine die.

Fiscal impact: May have fiscal impact, but no statement yet issued.
Revenue impact: May have revenue impact, but no statement yet issued. 

ISSUES DISCUSSED:
 Barriers facing children of disabled veterans
 Alignment with federal changes
 Clarification of language around waivers for master's degree programs
 Implementation of increased age limit

EFFECT OF AMENDMENT:
-2  The amendment grants each eligible student the full value of the tuition waiver by prohibiting it from being
reduced by the amount a student receives in federal, state, or institutional aid. 

BACKGROUND:
The state of Oregon provides tuition waivers for specific student groups, including the children and spouses of
military service members who are deceased, disabled, or Purple Heart recipients (ORS 350.285) and former foster
children and former homeless youth (ORS 350.300). Dependents of deceased or disabled service members and
Purple Heart recipients must be Oregon residents, and children must be 23 years old or younger, in order to be
eligible. Tuition waivers are available only at Oregon public universities while earning both a baccalaureate degree
and a master's degree.

Eligibility for the Oregon tuition waiver for dependents of deceased and disabled service members and Purple
Heart recipients overlaps with eligibility for the federal Survivors and Dependents Educational Assistance (DEA)
and the Marine Gunnery Sergeant John David Fry Scholarship (Fry Scholarship). ORS 350.285 allows students to
collect DEA benefits without reducing their tuition waiver. 

For the purposes of DEA eligibility, "child" is defined without regard to age or marital status (38 C.F.R. sect. 3.807).
On December 28, 2022, in the Consolidated Appropriations Act of 2023 (Public Law 117-328, pg. 1000),
Congress explicitly permitted dependents of service members who qualify for DEA on or after August 1, 2023 to
receive the benefit regardless of age.

https://www.oregonlegislature.gov/bills_laws/ors/ors350.html#:~:text=350.285%20Waiver%20of%20tuition
https://www.oregonlegislature.gov/bills_laws/ors/ors350.html
https://www.va.gov/family-and-caregiver-benefits/education-and-careers/dependents-education-assistance/
https://www.va.gov/family-and-caregiver-benefits/education-and-careers/fry-scholarship/
https://www.congress.gov/117/plaws/publ328/PLAW-117publ328.pdf

