SB 6 STAFF MEASURE SUMMARY

Senate Committee On Housing and Development

Prepared By: Kaia Maclaren, LPRO Analyst **Meeting Dates:** 3/17

WHAT THE MEASURE DOES:

The measure requires that any agency or official responsible for administering and enforcing the state building code make a decision to approve or deny any application for a building permit within 45 days of receipt of a complete application.

Detailed Summary:

Requires that the Department of Consumer and Business Services, a municipality, a building official or any other agency or official responsible for administering and enforcing the state building code make a decision to approve or deny any application for a building permit within 45 days of receipt of a complete application. Provides that if a decision on a building application is not reached within 45 days, the application will be considered approved and the agency or official shall issue the building permit promptly. Makes an agency or official responsible for administering and enforcing the state building code liable to the applicant for the sum of the application fee and the documented expenses incurred in preparing the application if the agency or official does not promptly issue the building permit after failing to reach a decision on the application within 45 days. Applies to complete applications for building permits submitted after the effective date of the measure.

Fiscal impact: May have fiscal impact, but no statement yet issued. Revenue impact: May have revenue impact, but no statement yet issued.

ISSUES DISCUSSED:

EFFECT OF AMENDMENT:

No amendment.

BACKGROUND:

Oregon law requires developers to obtain building permits from local building departments for a range of installations, alterations, and construction performed on residential structures to ensure that the work meets minimum standards for safe construction. Permits are required for all new construction as well as for specific alterations to existing homes, which include structural, plumbing, mechanical and electrical changes. The person performing the work, whether it is a homeowner or contractor, is responsible for obtaining all necessary permits. Oregon Law does not currently define a limit on the length of time an agency or official may consider a building permit before issuing a decision. Statute (ORS 455.050) states minimum information that must be present on an application, including name and address of the owner and address or tax lot on which the work will be performed, and the rest is determined by Department of Consumer and Business Services Building Codes Division rules and local (city or county) building departments.