## SCR 22 STAFF MEASURE SUMMARY

### **Senate Committee On Rules**

**Prepared By:** Leslie Porter, LPRO Analyst

Meeting Dates: 3/3

# WHAT THE MEASURE DOES:

The measure commends the 2024 University of Oregon Ducks football team for their outstanding season.

Fiscal impact: No impact Revenue impact: No impact

### **ISSUES DISCUSSED:**

#### **EFFECT OF AMENDMENT:**

No amendment.

### **BACKGROUND:**

On November 30, 2024, the 2024 University of Oregon (UO) Ducks football team capped their remarkable and undefeated regular season with a 49-21 win over rival University of Washington. They finished the regular season ranked first in the national polls, and achieved the only 13-0 record in program history. In their first season in the Big Ten Conference, the Ducks beat traditional Big Ten powerhouses to show that they were more than ready to compete for dominance in their new conference.

On December 7, 2024, the Ducks beat Penn State University 45-37 in an epic Big Ten championship game, winning their first Big Ten football title, and advancing to the National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA) playoffs. The Ducks' historic season finally came to an end in the 2025 Rose Bowl, when they lost a national quarterfinal playoff game to the eventual national champion, Ohio State Buckeyes, a team the Ducks had previously beaten in October.

The UO offensive line was a finalist for the Joe Moore Award. Quarterback Dillon Gabriel was a finalist for both the Heisman Trophy and the William V. Campbell Trophy, and was named the Big Ten Offensive Player of the Year. He is the NCAA career record holder with 189 total touchdowns, and he ranks second in Football Bowl Subdivision history in passing yards, total yards and passing touchdowns.

Linebacker Bryce Boettcher became the first player in program history to win the Burlsworth Trophy. He is also a star UO baseball player, excelling in two sports, and he delayed his professional baseball career to contribute to the UO football team. Linebacker Matayo Uiagalelei was a finalist for the Polynesian Football Hall of Fame College Player of the Year Award. Four Ducks earned all-America honors: Gabriel, defensive lineman Derrick Harmon and offensive linemen Josh Conerly Jr. and Ajani Cornelius. Numerous UO players won Big Ten all-conference team honors or academic honors, and head coach Dan Lanning was named the recipient of the 2025 Stallings Award.

The UO offense and defense both finished the season with high national rankings in proficiency, a testament to the outstanding balance and team depth that fueled the team's success. The Ducks ended their superb season ranked third in the final Associated Press national poll. UO football student-athletes are leaders in the classroom, on campus and in the community. The 2024 UO football team thrilled Ducks fans, and the State of Oregon, and earned the respect of fans around the nation with their skill, style and courage in a historic season full of memorable wins and late-game heroics.