# HB 3012 -1 STAFF MEASURE SUMMARY

# **House Committee On Rules**

**Prepared By:** Melissa Leoni, LPRO Analyst

Meeting Dates: 3/3

# WHAT THE MEASURE DOES:

The measure permits an individual who is 16 or 17 years of age and is registered to vote to cast a ballot in school district elections, including the nomination and election of school directors. It does not permit an individual who is 16 or 17 years of age to serve as a director of a district school board or to vote for or serve as a director of an education service district. The measure requires the Secretary of State to establish a process by rule to ensure an eligible individual only receives and casts a ballot for school district elections. It applies to elections on or after January 1, 2027.

Fiscal impact: May have fiscal impact, but no statement yet issued

Revenue impact: May have revenue impact, but no statement yet issued

### **ISSUES DISCUSSED:**

#### **EFFECT OF AMENDMENT:**

-1 The amendment changes the effective date to January 1, 2029.

#### **BACKGROUND:**

Section 2, Article II of the Oregon Constitution specifies voter qualifications, including citizenship, residency, and age. Oregonians must register 21 days before election day and must be a U.S. citizen, Oregon resident, and at least 16 years old. Once registered, an individual will receive a ballot and instructions in the mail about two weeks before an election. Registered voters under the age of 18 do not receive a ballot until the first election that occurs on or after the voter's 18<sup>th</sup> birthday.

Section 3, Article VIII of the Oregon Constitution gives the Legislative Assembly authority to "provide by law for the establishment of a uniform, and general system of Common schools."