

MEMORANDUM

To:Public Safety SubcommitteeFrom:John Borden, Legislative Fiscal OfficeDate:2/24/2025Subject:Body Camera Cost - Preliminary Response

Members of the Public Safety Subcommittee - Representative Helfrich had asked about the cost of body cameras, including the cost of the electronic storage of footage. The following is a preliminary report of such costs:

- Oregon State Police: statewide, the agency has approximately 561 body cameras for sworn staff. The annual storage cost is \$330,000 (or \$660,000 per biennium). Based on these figures, the estimated storage cost for each device is \$588.24 yearly per device and \$49.02 monthly per device.
- The use of body camera footage/data is also an issue in public defense, as investigators and public defenders request and review footage. We do not have an estimate of this cost, but it is likely a material public defense expense.

Attached is a special authorization from the Secretary of State that relates, in part, to Law Enforcement Body-Worn Cameras recordings, and which outlines the minimum retention requirements as being:

- a) Recordings used as evidence, retain until case reaches final disposition.
- b) Recordings used for internal investigations, retain until investigation closed, or 180 days, whichever is longer.
- c) All other recordings, 180 days

OSP states that the agency meets the minimum retention period outlined by Secretary of State, but further extends the retention to follow the guidelines for the following case-types:

- a) Homicides and historically significant cases permanent retention
- b) Sex Crimes up to 30 years
- c) Felonies 4 years
- d) Misdemeanors 3 years
- e) Violations 18 months

OFFICE OF THE SECRETARY OF STATE

CHERYL MYERS ACTING SECRETARY OF STATE AND TRIBAL LIAISON

STEVE BERGMANN INTERIM DEPUTY SECRETARY OF STATE



ARCHIVES DIVISION STEPHANIE CLARK DIRECTOR 800 Summer Street NE Salem, Oregon 97310 (503) 373-0701

6/2/2023

SPECIAL AUTHORIZATION TO DESTROY RECORDS

The Oregon State Archives Records Management Unit is currently updating General Retention Schedules OAR 166-150, 200, 300 and 350, and will be updating OAR 166-400 and 450 later this year. While this process takes time, we recognize that certain questions arise which require a more rapid response. Accordingly, the State Archivist is authorizing the below records series to be managed in accordance with the below retentions, pending their addition to the completed General Retention Schedules:

1. Law Enforcement Body-Worn Camera Recordings: Series documents video recordings made by body-worn cameras by members of law enforcement during the performance of their duties. Minimum retention: (a) Recordings used as evidence, retain until case reaches final disposition; (b) Recordings used for internal investigations, retain until investigation closed or 180 days, whichever is longer; (c) All other recordings, retain 180 days (per ORS 133.741).

2. Video Surveillance Recordings: Series documents the video monitoring of agency operated or public facilities, structures, roads, parking lots, etc. Minimum retention: (a) Recordings used as evidence, retain until case reaches final disposition; (b) Recordings used for internal investigations, retain until investigation closed; (c) All other recordings, retain 30 days.

3. Phone Call Recordings: Series documents routine recording of agency phone calls used for quality assurance and internal training purposes. **Minimum retention: Until no longer needed.**

This authorization will remain valid until updates to the above OARs are complete and the new schedules are posted in the Oregon Administrative Rules Database.

Authorized by:

the Unk

Stephanie Clark, State Archivist

For any questions about the application of these retentions please contact the Records Management Unit of the Oregon State Archives at records.management@sos.oregon.gov.