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WHAT THE MEASURE DOES:

The measure modifies the definition of “charter guide” in the context of outfitter and guide laws, modifies the
current registration fee structure to increase fees for resident outfitters and guides, and creates a new fee for
employees, all of which are to be applied uniformly regardless of state of residence to fees imposed on or after
November 1%, 2025. The measure also increases civil penalties for boating outfitters and guides that fail to comply
with registration and safety requirements.

Detailed Summary
e Changes the definition of ‘Charter Guide’ to an individual who posseses a valid U.S. Coast Guard operator
license and carries no more than six passengers for hire for outdoor recreational activities on federally

navigable waterways.
e Removes distinction between resident and non-resident annual registration fees and instead changes the
annual registration fee for outfitters and guides, regardless of residence, to $350.
e Establishes annual registration fees of $25 for employees.
Applies new fee structure to all fees imposed on or after November 1st, 2025.
e Increases civil penalties for boating outfitters and guides who fail to comply with registration and safety
requirements from $500 to $1,000 for penalties imposed on or after the effective date of the measures.
o Takes effect on 91 day following adjournment sine die.

FISCAL: May have fiscal impact, but no statement yet issued
REVENUE: May have revenue impact, but no statement yet issued

ISSUES DISCUSSED:

EFFECT OF AMENDMENT:

-1 The measure modifies the new definition of ‘charter guides', adds a definition of 'crew member', and
establishes registration requirements for crew members. The amendment also changes the proposed
modification of the registration fee structure.

Detailed Summary

o Narrows the definition of ‘Charter Guide’ to an outfitter and guide who possess a valid U.S. Coast Guard
operator license and carries no more than six passengers for hire for outdoor recreational activities on
federally navigable waterways.

e Adds a definition of 'crew member'.

e Requires crew members to register with the Oregon State Marine Board (OSMB) and provide specified
personal information, information about the applicants' employer, proof of specified first aid certifications,
and an affidavit stating that the applicant has not been convicted of certain crimes, misdemeanors, and
violations relevant to the applicants outfitting of guiding activities.

e Authorizes OSMB to require an annual or biennial crew member registration, directs OSMB to establish
registration renewal procedures through rulemaking, and sets the fee for the initial registration application
and each registration renewal to $50 per year.

e Includes crew members in current statutes related to outfitter and guide registrations.
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e Adds an annual registration fee of $500 for charter guides, regardless of residence.
¢ Increases the annual registration fee for outfitters and guides, that are not otherwise a charter guide, to $350,
regardless of residence.

FISCAL: May have fiscal impact, but no statement yet issued
REVENUE: May have revenue impact, but no statement yet issued

BACKGROUND:

The Outfitter and Guide Program was first established in 1984. The program focuses on registering outfitters and
guides and requires liability protection for clients. The Oregon State Marine Board registers outfitters and guides
annually to certify that they carry the minimum liability insurance required by law, that they have current First Aid
and CPR training and, if required, have a USCG Operator License or Surety Bond. Outfitters and guides are issued
an annual registration card that they are required to carry and show to anyone who asks. Under current law,
Oregon imposes an annual registration fee of $150 for resident outfitters and guides. For non-residents, the
registration fee is equivalent to the amount charged by the outfitter's home state. Currently, employees are not
issued separate registration cards.

This Summary has not been adopted or officially endorsed by action of the committee. 20f2



