















Why Outfitter Guide Program Matters

Ensures consumers of guided recreation in the outdoors are serviced by individuals and businesses who meet the registration and safety requirements in ORS 704.

Registration (occupational license)

 Application, SOS registry, certificate of insurance, surety bond, employee list, fee, federal permits

Safety Requirements

Background check, first aid, CPR, MMC/MPBOC licenses, drug consortium enrollment

Enforcement

- False Applications (criminal background)
- Illegal Guiding (unlicensed)
- Insufficient Safety Equipment
- Fish & Wildlife Crimes
- Ethical & Professional Standards

Problems Trying To Solve

Interstate Commerce

- Current non-resident OG fee structure (reciprocity) does not align with interstate commerce laws
- The state currently charges less to residents in pursuit of a common occupation license (OG registration) to the detriment of some nonresident competitors who pay more
- Differential in non-resident vs resident fees must be validated in showing actual burden (charging more to non-residents for occupational license)

Proposed Legislation

Introduced

- Restructure fees so that an annual OG registration is the same for an Oregon resident and non-resident
 - The annual fee proposed is \$350
- Establish an annual registration fee for an OG employee to offset agency processing costs of guide employees, currently no fee collected
 - The annual fee proposed is \$25
- Increase OG civil penalties for first and subsequent violations
 - The proposed civil penalty not to exceed amount is \$1,000
- Modify (simplify) "Charter Guide" definition

Proposed Legislation

Amendment Overview

- Restructure fees so that an annual OG registration is the same for an Oregon resident and non-resident
 - The annual registration fee proposed is \$350
- Establish an additional fee for Charter Guides
 - The annual additional fee proposed is \$150
- Establish registration and fee for Crew Member
 - The annual registration fee proposed is \$50
- Increase OG civil penalties for first and subsequent violations
 - The proposed civil penalty not to exceed amount is \$1,000