Memorandum

PREPARED FOR: Senate Committee on Rules

DATE: January 27, 2025

BY: Leslie Porter, Legislative Analyst

RE: Legislative Review of Executive Appointments



OREGON PATIENT SAFETY COMMISSION BOARD OF DIRECTORS

The Governor has appointed the following individuals to the Oregon Patient Safety Commission Board of Directors subject to Senate confirmation.¹

New Appointees

Jamie Miller of Stayton Mark Shatsky of Lake Oswego

Terms

Both appointees: March 1, 2025 – July 1, 2028

Appointment/Confirmation Authority

ORS 442.830 (2023)

Statement of Economic Interest²

Not required.

Composition³

The board consists of 17 members:

- one Oregon university faculty member who is not involved in the direct delivery of health care (CALDWELL);
- two health care group purchasers, one of whom shall be employed by a
 governmental entity, and neither of whom provide direct health care services or
 have an immediate family member who does (BUI, VACANT);
- two health care consumers, neither of whom provide direct health care services or have an immediate family member who does (DAYTON, MORRIS);
- two health insurers, including a domestic not-for-profit health care service contractor, a domestic insurance company licensed to transact health insurance, or a health maintenance organization (ENGRAV, MARVIN);
- one representative of a statewide or national labor organization (HURST);
- two active licensed physicians (DANNENHOFFER, SHATSKY);
- two hospital administrators or their designees (MIKULA, STEEN);
- one licensed pharmacist (HUFFT);

¹ Or. Const. art. III sect. 4, ORS 171.562 and 171.565 (2023).

² ORS 244.050 (2023).

³ ORS 442.830 (2023); ORS 182.100 (2023) for affirmative action policy; ORS 236.115 (2023) for diversity criteria.

- one ambulatory surgical center or outpatient renal dialysis facility representative (MILLER);
- one active licensed nurse (BYERS);
- one licensed nursing home administrator or nursing home director of nursing services (SPRANDO); and
- the State Public Health Officer or designee (SELOVER).

Members serve four-year terms and are eligible for reappointment. The board selects its chair and vice chair. No voting member may be an employee of the commission.

Duties⁴

The Oregon Patient Safety Commission is a semi-independent state agency that improves patient safety by reducing the risk of serious adverse events occurring in Oregon's health care system and by encouraging a culture of patient safety. The board exercises the power of, and provides governance to, the commission.

The board must

- adopt rules necessary for the implementation of the Oregon Patient Safety Reporting Program;
- maintain the confidentiality of all patient safety data; and
- appoint a commission administrator.



⁴ ORS 442.820 to 442.835 (2023).

Patient Safety Commission Board of Directors, Oregon

Agency: Semi-Independent

Authorization: ORS 442.830

Min Members: 17 Max Members: 17

Term Length: 4 Term Limit: 2

Senate Confirmation Required?: Yes

Policy Area: Health

Board Admin: Val Harmon

Address:

Oregon Patient Safety Commission

PO Box 285

Portland, OR 97204

503-224-5034

val.harmon@oregonpatientsafety.org

Current Appointments

Caldwell, Hollie

Faculty Member Rep

Position Number: 1

Bui, Lisa T

Public Purchaser

Position Number: 3

Ms Dayton, Gwen M JD

Healthcare Consumer

Position Number: 4

Russell Morris, Jessica H

Healthcare Consumer

Position Number: 5

Dr Marvin, Judith

Insurer

Position Number: 6

Dr Engrav, Mary B MD

Insurer

Position Number: 7

Shatsky, Mark

Physician

Position Number: 9

Dr. Dannenhoffer, Robert L MD

Physician

Position Number: 10

Term(s):

Term(s):

4/26/2023 - 7/1/2026

10/1/2022 - 9/30/2026

12/17/2018 - 9/30/2022

Term(s):

7/2/2024 - 7/1/2028

6/1/2024 - 7/1/2024

Term(s):

10/1/2023 - 9/30/2027

10/1/2019 - 9/30/2023

Term(s):

10/1/2020 - 9/30/2024

10/1/2016 - 9/30/2020

3/1/2021 - 9/30/2024

Term(s):

Term(s):

3/1/2025 - 7/1/2028

Term(s):

10/1/2024 - 9/30/2028

3/1/2021 - 9/30/2024

Dr Mikula, Margaret I Term(s): 10/5/2023 - 7/1/2027 Hospital Administrator Position Number: 11 Steen, Susan Term(s): 2/16/2024 - 7/1/2027 Hospital Administrator Position Number: 12 **Hufft, Katherine** Term(s): 10/1/2022 - 7/1/2026 Pharmacist Position Number: 13 Miller, Jamie Term(s): 3/1/2025 - 7/1/2028 Ambulatory Surgery Center Representative Position Number: 14 **Byers, Brett** Term(s): 7/2/2024 - 7/1/2028 Nurse 6/1/2024 - 7/1/2024 Position Number: 15 Sprando, Erin 4/26/2023 - 7/1/2026 Term(s): Nursing Facility Rep

Public Health Officer or Designee; By Position

Position Number: 16

Dr Selover, Dana S

Position Number: 17

Vacant Positions						
Pos	Former Member	Appointed By	Term Begin	Term End		
2	Ms Evans, Gayle M SPHR	Governor	10/1/2017	9/30/2021		
2	Ms Evans, Gayle M SPHR	Governor	3/1/2014	9/30/2017		
2	Mr Martin, James F	Governor	10/1/2009	9/30/2013		
2	Mr Martin, James F	Governor	1/23/2006	9/30/2009		

Term(s):

Pos	Former Member	Appointed By	Term Begin	Term End
8	Hurst, Heather L	Governor	3/1/2021	9/30/2024
8	Ms Tobias-White, Natasha P	Governor	10/1/2016	9/30/2020
8	Ms Tobias-White, Natasha P	Governor	12/1/2011	9/30/2015
8	Ms King, Susan E RN	Governor	7/2/2006	7/1/2010
8	Ms King, Susan E RN	Governor	2/1/2004	7/1/2006