Memorandum

PREPARED FOR: Senate Committee on Rules

DATE: January 27, 2025

BY: Leslie Porter, Legislative Analyst

RE: Legislative Review of Executive Appointments



JUVENILE JUSTICE POLICY COMMISSION

The Governor has appointed the following individuals to the Juvenile Justice Policy Commission, subject to Senate confirmation.¹

Reappointees

K.O. Berger of Keizer Mary Geelan of Milwaukie

Terms

Both appointees: January 2, 2025 - January 1, 2029

Appointment/Confirmation Authority

ORS 419A.289 (2023)

Statement of Economic Interest²

Not required.

Composition³

The commission consists of 17 members:

- one representative of the Oregon Youth Authority (O'LEARY);
- one representative of the Department of Human Services (GEELAN);
- one representative of the Department of Education (DETMAN);
- two directors of county juvenile departments (ARMSTRONG-ROMERO, ROGERS);
- one representative of the office of public defense services with experience in juvenile delinquency (BERGER);
- one representative of the Oregon District Attorney's Association with experience prosecuting juvenile delinquency (MURPHY);
- one representative of a youth advocacy organization (WILLIAMS);
- one representative of a victim advocacy organization (BREWER);
- one person who is a member of a federally recognized Indian tribe in Oregon (VACANT);
- two public members:
 - one with experience with the juvenile justice system as a youth (ROJO);
 and

¹ Or. Const. art. III sect. 4, ORS 171.562 and 171.565 (2023).

² ORS 244.050 (2023).

<u>ORS 244.030 (2023)</u>.

³ ORS 419.289 (2023); ORS 182.100 (2023) for affirmative action policy; ORS 236.115 (2023) for diversity criteria.

- one with experience as family member of a youth in the juvenile justice system (DAVALA);
- two senators, each of different political parties, appointed by the President of the Senate, ex officio, nonvoting (VACANT, VACANT);
- two representatives, each of different political parties, appointed by the Speaker of the House of Representatives (ANDERSON, CONRAD); and
- one representative of the Judicial Department, appointed by the Chief Justice of the Supreme Court (VACANT).

Non-legislative members serve four-year terms; legislators serve either four-year terms, or until the end of their legislative term—whichever comes first. Members are eligible for reappointment but may serve only two consecutive terms. Non-state employees and legislators receive per diem. The Governor selects the chair, who serves as chair for one year. The voting members select the vice chair.

Duties⁴

The Commission is established within the Oregon Criminal Justice Commission to provide data-driven policy recommendations to strengthen public safety and improve youth outcomes in the juvenile justice system. It must provide a report to the Legislative Assembly by September 1 of each even-numbered year. The Commission shall oversee and examine

- key drivers of system involvement and opportunities for improved diversion and restorative justice;
- drivers of detention and residential placement and any available or needed alternatives:
- policies and practices of assessment, court process, community supervisions and reentry;
- service delivery for youth under supervision, with evaluation of whether resources are used efficiently and whether collaboration is effective;
- racial, ethnic, and other disparities among youth impacted by the system;
- efficiency and effectiveness of state and county quality assurance, data collection, and reporting and oversight systems;
- opportunities for better alignment with constitutional mandates, local and national best practices and research;
- public safety within the context of personal responsibility, accountability, and reformation; and
- victim rights.

⁴ ORS 419A.289 through 419A.292 (2023).



LEGISLATIVE POLICY AND RESEARCH OFFICE

Juvenile Justice Policy Commission

Agency: Criminal Justice Commission

Authorization: ORS 419A.289

Min Members: 0 Max Members: 17

Term Length: 4 Term Limit: 2

Senate Confirmation Required?: Yes

Policy Area: Public Safety

Board Admin: Ken Sanchagrin

Address:

Term(s):

Ken.SANCHAGRIN@cjc.oregon.gov

2/16/2024 - 1/1/2026

2/16/2024 - 1/1/2025

10/1/2024 - 1/1/2025

2/16/2024 - 1/1/2025

Current Appointments

Director O'Leary, Joseph A

Oregon Youth Authority Rep

Position Number: 1

Geelan, Mary

Term(s): 1/2/2025 - 1/1/2029

ODHS Rep

Position Number: 2

Detman, Brian Term(s): 1/2/2025 - 1/1/2028

ODE Rep

Position Number: 3

Armstrong-Romero, Kyla Term(s): 2/16/2024 - 1/1/2026

County Juvenile Department Director

Position Number: 4

Ms Rogers, Molly A Term(s): 2/16/2024 - 1/1/2026

County Juvenile Department Director

Position Number: 5

Osborne-Berger, Katherine "K.O." Term(s): 1/2/2025 - 1/1/2029

Office of Public Defense Rep

Position Number: 6

Murphy, Brendan Term(s): 2/16/2024 - 1/1/2026

Oregon District Attorneys Association Rep

Position Number: 7

Williams, Lisa Kay Term(s): 2/16/2024 - 1/1/2027

Youth Advocacy Org Rep

Position Number: 8

Brewer, Rosemary Term(s): 10/1/2024 - 1/1/2027

Victim Advocacy Org Rep

Position Number: 9

Rojo, Pablo Term(s): 2/16/2024 - 1/1/2027 Public Member w/ experience as Youth in Juvenile System Position Number: 11 Davala, Laurie Term(s): 2/16/2024 - 1/1/2027 Public Member w/ experience as family of youth in juvenile system Position Number: 12 Representative Conrad, Charlie Term(s): Representative Position Number: 15 Representative Andersen, Tom Term(s): Representative

Position Number: 16

Vacant Positions				
Pos	Former Member	Appointed By	Term Begin	Term End
10	No prior appointments			
Pos	Former Member	Appointed By	Term Begin	Term End
13	No prior appointments			
Pos	Former Member	Appointed By	Term Begin	Term End
14	No prior appointments			
Pos	Former Member	Appointed By	Term Begin	Term End
17	No prior appointments			