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HB 3235 STAFF MEASURE SUMMARY
House Committee On Housing and Homelessness

Prepared By: Iva Sokolovska, LPRO Analyst
Sub-Referral To: Joint Committee On Ways and Means
Meeting Dates: 2/12

WHAT THE MEASURE DOES:
Directs the Oregon Housing and Community Services Department to make a grant to the Network for Oregon
Affordable Housing (NOAH) to allow first-time home buyers to establish equity at a faster rate while making
monthly payments. Appropriates $10 million General Fund to OHCS for the purposes of making the grant. Sunsets
grant on January 2, 2028. Prohibits OHCS to make a grant until NOAH has demonstrated that it has dedicated at
least $10 million of additional private moneys in a loan fund. Directs OHCS and NOAH to report to the legislature
on the use of the loan funds by September 15, 2027 and 2029. Declares an emergency, effective July 1, 2025.

Fiscal impact: May have fiscal impact, but no statement yet issued 
Revenue impact: May have revenue impact, but no statement yet issued 

ISSUES DISCUSSED:

EFFECT OF AMENDMENT:
No amendment.

BACKGROUND:
The legislature established the affordable homeownership revolving loan fund through a grant provided by the
Housing and Community Services Department to the Network for Oregon Affordable Housing (NOAH). The
purpose of this fund is to assist first-time homebuyers in building equity more quickly while maintaining
affordable monthly payments. Eligible properties include homes, cooperative shares, or condominium units
where the buyer's ability to accumulate equity is limited. Before receiving the grant, NOAH must demonstrate
that it has secured at least $7.5 million in private funding for the loan fund. The loans issued from this fund must
be used to purchase homes with affordability restrictions that limit appreciation-based equity gains and require
buyers to be classified as low-income households under Oregon law. To qualify, applicants must complete a
first-time homebuyer program through an approved housing counseling agency. The loans must have terms of 20
years or less, a fixed interest rate, and payments comparable to those of a 30-year fixed-rate mortgage at the
national average rate or a minimum interest rate of 0.5 percent. The legislation also provides a state
appropriation of $7.5 million to fund the program and mandates that the Housing and Community Services
Department report on the use of these funds to the legislature in 2025 and 2027. The revolving loan fund program
is set to expire on January 2, 2026. 


