HB 2809 STAFF MEASURE SUMMARY

House Committee On Agriculture, Land Use, Natural Resources, and Water

Prepared By:Anna Glueder, LPRO AnalystSub-Referral To:House Committee On RevenueMeeting Dates:1/27, 2/12

WHAT THE MEASURE DOES:

The measure increases the upper limit on pesticide registration fees chargeable by the Oregon Department of Agriculture (ODA) from \$400 to \$550 and authorizes ODA to take any action necessary for implementation before the measure's operative date. Becomes operative January 1, 2026. It takes effect on the 91st day following adjournment sine die.

FISCAL: May have fiscal impact, but no statement yet issued REVENUE: May have revenue impact, but no statement yet issued

ISSUES DISCUSSED:

EFFECT OF AMENDMENT:

No amendment.

BACKGROUND:

Federal law requires pesticides that are manufactured, compounded, delivered, distributed, sold, offered, or exposed for sale in Oregon to be registered annually with the Oregon Department of Agriculture. The annual registration fee for each pesticide product was last updated in 2023 and is currently \$360.

This summary has not been adopted or officially endorsed by action of the committee.