Associated Liquor
Stores of Oregon

Advocate
Ecducate
Innovate




Results of Liquor Store owners investing in their business
Modern Stores
One Stop Shopping Experience
Focused on higher end products
Creating added revenue for the state

Projected LIQUOR Sales $1.7 billion



Why are we here???

Oregon’s 290 liquor stores are proud to deliver the third highest revenue stream to state and local governments

Each store is operated by independent small business owner, many of whom are women and minorities
We focus on providing a secure retail environment, customer safety, convenience, and a high-quality shopping experience.

Only after we pay all these ongoing expenses - we pay ourselves.

The control state system works well, and we support the continuation of the system along with a little modernization!

Before you are three bills that will go along way in protecting the system and the small mom & pop business owners.



Remodelled store

Vicki and her mother (first customer)
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d Vicki has delivered on her promises. Florence North
% is a great new addition to the Oregon coast

Florence North surpassed Vicki's initial sales
estimate of $20,000 per month.
Currently averaging $110,000 per month



- 1180 BACK TO BACK

Tualatin Agent Carl Goodspeed relocated and
modernized the store in 2013

Liquor
Agent Vance Burghard appointed in 2016
converting the store to Non-exclusive adding

more selection

1976 2013 2017



NON-EXCLUSIVE CONVERSION

Vance adds walk in cooler where the

Committed to reset store entirely to add '
Beer/Wine for one stop bottle shop Vodka wall used to be in 2017
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Before Pictures
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the number two spot in Bend, with
over 7 million in 2021 sales
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Before Pictures

Saleem’s Corvallis store
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| After Picture

Ke/izer Liguor Stoxe



BIQUORESITIORE
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Amends the store compensation system to clarify that the CPl increases do not apply to the
store classification system instead of just to the base compensation and escalator as was
intended in the 2021 legislation that updated liquor store compensation. Current law has
negatively impacted individual store compensation and was not the intended outcome of
the 2021 legislation that was the culmination of twenty years of work to modernize store
compensation.



(3) A store shall be classed based on the store’s amount of annual sales of alcoholic beverages
rounded to the nearest whole dollar|, adjusted annually by a percentage equal to any percentage in-
crease in the Consumer Price Index for All Urban Consumers, West Region (All Items), as published
by the Bureau of Labor Statistics of the United States Department of Labor,] as follows:

(a) Class 1: up to $120,000;

(b) Class 2: at least $120,001 and not more than $450,000;
at least $450,001 and not more than $750,000;

(c) Class 3:
(d) Class 4: at least $750,001 and not more than $1,650,000;
5:

(e) Class 5: at least $1,650,001 and not more than $2,500,000;
(f) Class 6: at least $2,500,001 and not more than $3,700,000;

(g) Class 7: at least $3,700,001 and not more than $5,500,000;

NOTE: Matter in boldfaced type in an amended section is new; matter [italic and bracketed] is existing law to be omitted.
New sections are in boldfaced type.

LC 1082

HB 2120

(h) Class 8: at least $5,500,001 and not more than $8,300,000;

(i) Class 9: at least $8,300,001 and not more than $12,500,000; and

(j) Class 10: at least $12,500,001 and not more than $18,750,000.

(4) The monthly base compensation for an agent, adjusted annually by a percentage equal to any

percentage increase in the Consumer Price Index for All Urban Consumers, West Region (All Items),




(4) The monthly base compensation for an agent, adjusted annually by a percentage equal to any

percentage increase in the Consumer Price Index for All Urban Consumers, West Region (All Items),

as published by the Bureau of Labor Statistics of the United States Department of Labor, is deter-
mined as follows according to the class of store operated by the agent:

(a) Class 1 store: 14.5 percent of the first $10,000 in monthly sales of alcoholic beverages;

(b) Class 2 store: $1,660;

(c) Class 3 store: $1,920;

(d) Class 4 store: $2,440;

(e) Class 5 store: $2,700;

(f) Class 6 store: $3,100;

(g) Class 7 store: $3,600;

(h) Class 8 store: $4,150;

(i) Class 9 store: $4,800; and

(j) Class 10 store: $5,500.

(5) The wage escalator amount is as follows:

(a) For an agent in a standard county, eight percent of the monthly base compensation; or

(b) For an agent in a Portland metropolitan area county, 18 percent of the monthly basze com-

pensation.

B8

(6) The monthly retail escalator amount is as follows:

&

(a) For a store located in a standard county, 50 percent of the monthly base compensation; or

B

(b) For a store located in a Portland metropolitan area county, 75 percent of the monthly base

B

compensation.

(7) The sales commission rates are as follows:

N R

(a) For sales of alcoholic beverages to licensees, 6.54 percent of the amount of sales.

B

(b) For sales of alcoholic beverages to persons other than licensees, 8.38 percent of the amount

of sales.

&




CPIIMPACT ON BASE COMP

EXAMPLE

CLASS 6 STORE SALES $2,500,001 TO $3,700,000

CPI INCREASE OF 4% $2,600,001 TO $3,848,000

REVENUE WITH CPI APPLIED ONLY TO BASE COMP
STORE SELLS $2,501,000

BASE COMP FOR CLASS 6

PDX STORE WITH ACCELERATORS APPLIED

CPI APPLIED TO STORE CLASSIFICATION

STORE DOING $2.5+ MIL IN SALES DROPS TO CLASS 5
BASE COMP FOR CLASS 5

PDX STORE WITH ACCELERATORS APPLIED

DIFFERENCE OF CPI APPLIED TO STORE CLASSIFICATION
STORE LOST BASE COMP REVENUE
ANNUALY $ LOST




Impact of applying CPI to store sales in 2023

STORES WENT DOWN IN CLASSIFICATION STORES WENT UP IN CLASSIFICATION

PDX METRO LOST REV. STANDARD LOST REV PDX METRO STANDARD

Class 4 44,518
Class 5 16,723
Class 6 17,140
Class 7 42,774
Class 8 11,774
Class 9 13,917

TOTALS 246,029 146,845

LOST
REVENUE 392,874

AVG STORE
LOST REVENUE




» Liguor stores are not treated the same as other liquor licensees in terms of OLCC rules
compliance. We have had many instances where even OLCC regulatory inspectors are
confused on the subject. There are over 14,000 licensees in Oregon. Regulatory and
compliance rules are well defined. Adding liquor stores to the already defined regulatory
compliance standards for licensees would reduce the complexity for store owners and
regulators.

» It would give the liquor store owners a documented clear set of rules to follow.



The OLCC shall pay a person qualifying under this section business loss compensation based upon rules
to be adopted by the OLCC if the system is privatized in any form.
The rules will change the valuation determination to a market-based value,

rather than the current OLCC determined value, which does not consider all the non-liquor sales.



We have over 50 small business owner, majority of them working 30+ years in their stores,
Waiting to retire, based on the promises of the commission.

If the previous administration had been around another couple of months, we would not
be sitting here discussing this particular issue.

We need your help in making these fair and deserved changes in considering the
“Market Based Value” without additional delay.

We already have fours years of work invested.



Stronger Together

OLCC & Liquor Agents
Partnering together

Better Together
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