# HB 2961 STAFF MEASURE SUMMARY

## House Committee On Climate, Energy, and Environment

**Prepared By:** Erin Pischke, LPRO Analyst **Meeting Dates:** 1/30, 2/4

### WHAT THE MEASURE DOES:

The measure modifies the state building code requirements for electrical service capacity for charging electric vehicles (EV) and EV charging station in each newly constructed multifamily residential building or mixed-use building with five or more residential dwelling units.

#### Detailed summary:

Modifies the state building code requirements each newly constructed multifamily residential building or mixed-use building with five or more residential dwelling units must meet, including:

1. Increasing the electrical service capacity from no less than 20 percent to **no less than 50 percent** of the vehicle parking spaces in the garage or parking area for the building; or

2. Requiring electrical service capacity for charging electric vehicles in 20 percent of the vehicle parking spaces in the garage or parking area for the building, one quarter of which percentage, but not less than one parking space, to consist of vehicle parking spaces with level 2 or level 3 electric vehicle charging stations installed and ready for use.

Requires the Director of the Oregon Department of Consumer and Business Services to ensure that the initial amendments to the state building code required take effect on July 1, 2026, and apply to new construction for which a person first applies for a building permit on or after July 1, 2026.

Fiscal impact: May have fiscal impact, but no statement issued yet Revenue impact: May have revenue impact, but no statement issued yet

#### **ISSUES DISCUSSED:**

#### **EFFECT OF AMENDMENT:**

No amendment.

#### **BACKGROUND:**

The Oregon Department of Consumer and Business Services (DCBS) adopted Electric Vehicle (EV) Ready Parking standards (standards) in 2017. The standards required newly constructed parking facilities in certain occupancies with 50 or more open parking spaces to have conduit run from the service to at least five percent of the open parking spaces. The conduit must be sized to fit wiring for at least a level 2 charger (40 amp).

Current statute requires the Director of DCBS to amend state building code to require that new construction of certain commercial, residential, and mixed-use buildings include provisions for electrical service capacity for at least 20 percent of parking spaces (Oregon Revised Statute 455.417). The statute allows municipalities to adopt a local percentage of parking space requirements higher than state building code requirements.