

THE GENERAL COURT OF MASSACHUSETTS STATE HOUSE, BOSTON 02133-1053

December 23, 2024

Governor Maura Healey Office of the Governor 24 Beacon Street, Room 280 Boston, Massachusetts 02133

Commissioner Bonnie Heiple Department of Environmental Protection 100 Cambridge Street, Suite 900 Boston, Massachusetts 02108

Dear Governor Healey and Commissioner Heiple,

We write to request a delay of the upcoming Advanced Clean Truck (ACT) rule that will come into effect January 1, 2025. While we all want to reduce emissions from the transportation sector, implementing the ACT rule at this time may unintentionally lead to more emissions while harming our public and private sector partners throughout the Commonwealth.

The Massachusetts Department of Environmental Protection's (MassDEP's) recent decision to delay the heavy-duty omnibus (HDO) rule by one year and exercise discretion for the enforcement of the ACT rule for government purchases of snowplows and street sweepers recognizes the difficulty public and private fleet owners currently face. However, this decision did not provide real relief for our municipalities and industries that rely on access to new, cleaner medium- and heavy-duty trucks (MHDs).

The fact remains that technology and infrastructure have simply not reached the level where they need to be to support the widespread adoption of electric MHDs at this time. Electric MHD technology is improving, but there still remain large gaps in the number and types of available electric vocational trucks that our public and private sector partners rely on. Even with the Commonwealth's rebate program for electric MHDs, the cost of these electric trucks are two to three times more expensive than their clean diesel or other clean technology counterparts. Finally, even if a public or private sector entity purchased an electric MHD, we have more work to do to build out our electric infrastructure. We recognized this fact in our recently passed clean energy law which specifically directed the Electric Vehicle Infrastructure Coordinating Council (EVICC) to report on the needs for charging MHD throughout the Commonwealth.

Current sales within the Commonwealth have shown that our state, municipal and private partners have shied away from purchasing electric MHDs for the aforementioned reasons. It is unrealistic to think recent amendments to the ACT rule adopted by the California Air Resources Board (CARB) will incentivize manufacturers or end-users to change their ways. Our public and private sector fleet managers are tasked with investing their limited resources in a reasonable and responsible manner – whether working within a limited municipal budget or buying a vehicle that can reliably perform the task it is needed for. As a result, implementing the ACT rule on January 1st will most likely lead to our public and private sector partners keeping their existing dirtier trucks on the road for a longer period of time. Given the estimate that fifty

percent (50%) of the Commonwealth's truck inventory pre-dates the United States Environmental Protection Agency's (EPA's) 2010 clean engine standards, we will be losing the opportunity to retire some of these trucks in the coming year as newer, cleaner diesel or other clean technology driven MHD cannot even be purchased.

We recognize that the Commonwealth sought to be one of the earliest adopters of the ACT rule. Delaying the ACT rule for a year or two does not mean that we will be retreating from the critical task of reducing emissions from the transportation sector. A delay in the ACT rule means that we will have additional time to build out our electric infrastructure, manufacturers will continue to improve electric MHD technology, and our public and private sector partners can reasonably budget for future electric MHD purchases tomorrow while purchasing cleaner MHDs today.

We appreciate your consideration of this matter and respectfully ask that you delay the Commonwealth's implementation of the ACT rule.

Sincerely,

Senator Michael O. Moore Second Worcester District

Senator Peter J. Durant Worcester and Hampshire District



Senator Ryan C. Fattman Worcester and Hampden District

Senator Nick Collins First Suffolk District

Senator Brendan P. Crighton Third Essex District

us Ma

Representative Christopher M. Markey Nineth Bristol District

Senator Bruce E. Tarr First Essex and Middlesex District

lis

Senator John C. Velis Hampden and Hampshire District

Senator Patrick M. O'Connor First Plymouth and Norfolk District

Senator Edward J. Kennedy First Middlesex District

Senator Michael D. Brady Second Plymouth and Norfolk District

Sian M ash.

Representative Brian M. Ashe Second Hampden District

Jugel Grand J

Representative Angelo J. Puppolo, Jr. Twelfth Hampden District

ane

Representative Hannah Kane Eleventh Worcester District

m1/1-

Representative Michael J. Soter Eighth Worcester District

Representative John J. Marsi Sixth Worcester District

Representative Meghan Kilcoyne Twelfth Worcester District

Representative Joseph D. McKenna Eighteenth Worcester District

mena ant

Representative Marcus Vaughn Nineth Norfolk

Gry . Della

Representative James Arena-DeRosa Eighth Middlesex District

Representative Jim Hawkins Second Bristol District

Representative Jonathan D. Zlotnik Second Worcester District

even S.

Representative Steven S. Howitt Fourth Bristol District

Representative F. Jay Barrows First Bristol District

Representative Marc T. Lombardo Twenty-Second Middlesex District

Representative Steven G. Xiarhos Fifth Barnstable District

Representative Kimberly N. Ferguson First Worcester District

Representative Smitty Pignatelli Third Berkshire District

Representative Bradley H. Jones, Jr. Twentieth Middlesex District

Colleen Garry

Representative Colleen M. Garry Thirty-Sixth Middlesex District

Selam Franker

Representative Adam J. Scanlon Fourteenth Bristol District

XIN

Representative Brian W. Murray Tenth Worcester District

Representative Patrick Fourth Plymouth District

Kearney

Lite

Representative David F. DeCoste Fifth Plymouth District

She Bank

Representative John Barrett III First Berkshire District

on Mescheno

Representative Joan Meschino Third Plymouth District

Representative David K. Muradian, Jr. Nineth Worcester District

Representative Tackey Chan Second Norfolk District

Representative Paul K. Frost Seventh Worcester District

indoary 71 Jahados-

Representative Lindsay Sabadosa First Hampshire District

Representative William Galvin Sixth Norfolk District

Representative Peter Capano Eleventh Essex District

Representative Norman Orrall Twelfth Bristol District

Representative Carmine Lawrence Gentile Thirteenth Middlesex District

Representative Jeffrey R. Turco 19th Suffolk District

Kelly Pease

Representative Kelly Pease 4th Hampden District