## HB 4033: The Oregon Nursing Facility Provider Assessment

### Senate Committee on Finance and Revenue February 26, 2024



*Improving lives by advancing quality care in Oregon since 1950* 

# Provider Assessment Background

- Federal law permits states to levy an assessment on certain health care entities, including nursing facilities. At least 43 states currently levy a nursing facility assessment.
- The nursing facility assessment was approved by the Oregon Legislature in 2003 and has been extended three times, each with time with a six-year sunset.
- The total revenues the state receives from the assessment consist of the assessment rate multiplied by the number of patient days for a calendar quarter. Assessment revenues receive federal match along with state General Funds to support care for Medicaid beneficiaries.
- The assessment rate is capped at 6% of the annual gross revenue of all participating nursing facilities. The cap is provided for in federal law as part of a safe harbor exception.
- The current assessment rate established by ODHS is \$34.02.

## Who Pays the Assessment?

All licensed nursing facilities in Oregon pay the assessment, <u>except</u> for the two Oregon Veterans' Homes in The Dalles and Lebanon.

### **OREGON NURSING HOME DETAILS**



Reference: Nursing Homes including Rehab Services. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS). Updated November 1, 2023.

# Benefit to Oregonians and the State

✓ Supports access to nursing facility care for low-income Oregonians.

- ✓ Reduces General Fund burden for the State to fund long term care services.
- ✓ Supports quality care outcomes, including helping Oregon achieve one of the highest resident-to-staff levels in the nation.

#### <u>By The Numbers (2003 – 2023)</u> \$947.7 Million

Revenue collected from providers paying the assessment.

#### \$1.7 Billion

Federal funds leveraged to Oregon under the FMAP rate (currently at roughly 59%).

#### \$128.2 Million

Revenue generated in the 2021-23 biennium alone, *not* including the federal match.



## Annual Process for Establishing the Provider Assessment Rate



# Support HB 4033

- $\,\circ\,\,$  The current assessment sunsets in 2026.
- $\circ$  HB 4033 extends the assessment for another six years to 2032.
- Extending the nursing facility assessment in 2024 helps ensure stability for Medicaid funding of long term care services in nursing facilities. It also avoids projecting a loss of funds in the next biennial budget cycle.
- HB 4033 was approved by the House on a **56-0 vote** this session.