HB 4033:

The Oregon Nursing Facility
Provider Assessment

Senate Committee on Finance and Revenue
February 26, 2024
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Provider Assessment Background

©)

Federal law permits states to levy an assessment on certain health care entities, including
nursing facilities. At least 43 states currently levy a nursing facility assessment.

The nursing facility assessment was approved by the Oregon Legislature in 2003 and has been
extended three times, each with time with a six-year sunset.

The total revenues the state receives from the assessment consist of the assessment rate
multiplied by the number of patient days for a calendar quarter. Assessment revenues receive

federal match along with state General Funds to support care for Medicaid beneficiaries.

The assessment rate is capped at 6% of the annual gross revenue of all participating nursing
facilities. The cap is provided for in federal law as part of a safe harbor exception.

The current assessment rate established by ODHS is $34.02.




Who Pays the Assessment?

All licensed nursing facilities in Oregon pay the assessment, except for the two Oregon Veterans’
Homes in The Dalles and Lebanon.

OREGON NURSING HOME DETAILS

Nursing Facilities
Total Licensed Beds with Medicaid
Contracts

123 10,434
129 101 655 (95% of all facilities (98% of all beds in

in Oregon) Oregon)

Licensed Beds with

Licensed Nursing
Medicaid Contracts

Facilities

Reference: Nursing Homes including Rehab Services. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS). Updated November 1, 2023.




By The Numbers (2003 - 2023)
$947.7 Million

Revenue collected from providers paying the assessment.

$1.7 Billion

Federal funds leveraged to Oregon under the FMAP rate
(currently at roughly 59%).

$128.2 Million

Revenue generated in the 2021-23 biennium alone, not
including the federal match.

Benefit to Oregonians and the State

v’ Supports access to nursing facility care for low-income Oregonians.

v Reduces General Fund burden for the State to fund long term care services.

v’ Supports quality care outcomes, including helping Oregon achieve one of the
highest resident-to-staff levels in the nation.
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Annual Process for Establishing the
Provider Assessment Rate

Step 2

Step 1 ODHS reviews and audits
Cost reports are submitted S facility cost reports and
by nursing facilities to ODHS, annualizes data by February
due September 30. 28. Audits for bed days,

expenditures, and revenue.

Step 3

ODHS populates the
assessment rate-setting
model with bed days and

revenue by March 15.

—

Step 4

ODHS calculates bed days
and revenue trends by type
(Medicaid, Medicare,
Private) and calculates the
assessment rate by April 15.

v

Step 5 Step 6
Internal and external N ODHS Director sets new LTC

stakeholder agreement assessment rate by June 15
8 and notifies LTC providers.

Step 7

New assessment rate is
effective July 1.




Support HB 4033

O

The current assessment sunsets in 2026.

HB 4033 extends the assessment for another six years to 2032.

Extending the nursing facility assessment in 2024 helps ensure stability for
Medicaid funding of long term care services in nursing facilities. It also

avoids projecting a loss of funds in the next biennial budget cycle.

HB 4033 was approved by the House on a 56-0 vote this session.
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