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Comparison of Marketplace Average Benchmark Premiums Between States With and Without Copay 
Accumulator Adjustment Bans 

Between 2019 and 2022, 16 states enacted laws banning insurers and pharmacy benefit managers 
(PBMs) from diver�ng copay assistance funds intended to help pa�ents living with serious, complex 
chronic illness afford the expensive medica�ons on which they rely. Pa�ents and providers first no�ced 
this prac�ce (called “copay accumulator adjustments”) in 2017.1  

The AIDS Ins�tute analyzed annual premium changes in states with copay accumulator adjustment 
bans and those without. We found no evidence that enac�ng a copay accumulator adjustment ban 
has a meaningful impact on average premiums. 

 

Source: Marketplace Average Benchmark Premiums, Kaiser Family Founda�on. Assumes that impact of copay accumulator adjustment 
bans would begin on Jan 1 of the year following enactment of the state law.  

 
1 For more informa�on about copay accumulator adjustment policies and their impact on pa�ents, see: The AIDS Ins�tute, 
Discriminatory Copay Policies Undermine Coverage for People with Chronic Illness: Copay Accumulator Adjustment Policies in 
2023, February 2023.  
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https://www.kff.org/health-reform/state-indicator/marketplace-average-benchmark-premiums/?currentTimeframe=0&sortModel=%7B%22colId%22:%22Location%22,%22sort%22:%22asc%22%7D
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Marketplace Average Benchmark Premiums by State Copay Assistance 

Accumulator Bans in Place by 2023   
States 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 2023  
Arizona $516 $471 $442 $436 $390 $410  
Illinois $486 $478 $451 $423 $418 $453  
Virginia $535 $555 $521 $479 $450 $371  
West Virginia $545 $596 $628 $654 $752 $824  
Georgia $483 $487 $463 $456 $394 $413  
Arkansas $364 $378 $365 $394 $387 $416  
Connecticut $545 $475 $570 $580 $581 $627  
Kentucky $422 $460 $471 $476 $387 $422  
Louisiana $474 $454 $500 $545 $541 $565  
North Carolina $627 $618 $558 $516 $504 $512  
Oklahoma $659 $696 $601 $554 $498 $510  
Tennessee $743 $548 $511 $466 $445 $473  
Delaware $589 $684 $548 $540 $548 $549  
Maine $588 $544 $513 $440 $427 $457  
New York $506 $569 $610 $597 $592 $627  
Washington $336 $406 $391 $388 $396 $395  
Alabama $558 $546 $553 $590 $597 $567  
Alaska $726 $702 $724 $675 $712 $762  
California $430 $439 $430 $426 $417 $432  
Colorado $470 $488 $358 $351 $358 $380  
District of Columbia $324 $393 $414 $415 $387 $428  
Florida $466 $477 $468 $457 $456 $471  
Hawaii $438 $493 $474 $478 $484 $469  
Idaho $478 $498 $520 $495 $461 $425  
Indiana $339 $339 $387 $421 $398 $397  
Iowa $713 $762 $742 $523 $502 $484  
Kansas $518 $552 $502 $491 $450 $471  
Maryland $487 $419 $397 $347 $328 $336  
Massachusetts $316 $332 $343 $363 $389 $417  
Michigan $381 $383 $360 $347 $340 $362  
Minnesota $385 $326 $309 $307 $327 $335  
Mississippi $519 $521 $487 $459 $448 $461  
Missouri $529 $499 $483 $479 $442 $473  
Montana $525 $561 $483 $471 $483 $477  
Nebraska $767 $838 $711 $699 $595 $550  
Nevada $432 $410 $374 $393 $383 $386  
New Hampshire $475 $402 $405 $357 $309 $323  
New Jersey $413 $352 $392 $405 $424 $441  

New Mexico $414 $365 $345 $339 $389 $445  

North Dakota $377 $457 $383 $493 $497 $475  

Ohio $371 $380 $375 $375 $375 $413  

Oregon $414 $443 $446 $437 $444 $462  

Pennsylvania $575 $484 $459 $455 $390 $433  

Rhode Island $311 $336 $332 $349 $361 $379  

South Carolina $520 $552 $509 $476 $444 $496  

South Dakota $521 $557 $593 $618 $601 $626  

Texas $434 $444 $432 $436 $424 $461  

Utah $550 $542 $486 $472 $456 $471  

Vermont $505 $622 $662 $669 $749 $841  

Wisconsin $569 $537 $491 $457 $429 $456  

Wyoming $865 $865 $881 $791 $762 $802  

Source: Kaiser Family Foundation, Marketplace Average Benchmark Premiums. Assumes law impacted premiums the year after it was 
passed. Key: Blue cells = States with copay accumulator adjustment bans passed between 2019 and 2022; Orange font = Year law 
impacted premiums 


