CITY OF



PORTLAND, OREGON

Ted Wheeler, Mayor Carmen Rubio, Commissioner Dan Ryan, Commissioner Rene Gonzalez, Commissioner Mingus Mapps, Commissioner

February 13, 2024

Senate Committee on Housing and Development Oregon State Legislature 900 Court Street SE Salem, OR 97301

Dear Chair Jama, Vice Chair Anderson, and members of the committee,

We write today to share our strong support for Senate Bill 1530, a bill that makes critical investments in our housing continuum of care. We are specifically interested in SB 1530's ability to keep Portlanders living in our Safe Rest Village system housed through the proposed \$65 million investment in emergency shelters.

The COVID-19 pandemic exacerbated the need for safe shelter in Portland and Oregon. Like other cities across the state and across the country, we utilized American Rescue Plan Act (ARPA) dollars to meet the moment and keep as many of our vulnerable citizens sheltered as possible, specifically through our seven Safe Rest Village sites. These sites are small communities of thirty to sixty tiny home units that serve as transitional emergency shelter. Each unit has a locking door and a heating and cooling system. Each village has bathrooms, showers, laundry facilities, and a kitchen.

When ARPA funding expires in December 2024, Portland will face a \$8.5 million funding gap for Safe Rest Villages in FY 2024-2025. While federal funding may be expiring, the need for these sites remains. We are deeply appreciative of Director Bell and Oregon Housing and Community Services' leadership in administering legislative funding for Portland's Temporary Alternative Shelter Sites program over the past year. We are hopeful that OHCS will distribute this \$65 million in an expeditious manner and will continue to stay in dialogue with the City of Portland as we jointly respond to the needs of our houseless community members.

Thank you again for the opportunity to share our support for critical investments in our response to homelessness. We urge passage of SB 1530.

Sincerely,

Ted Wheeler Mayor

Carmen Rubio Commissioner

Dan Ryan Commissioner

Cor Mb Rene Gonzalez

Commissioner

Mingus Mapps Commissioner