States with Examination and Education Requirements 1/22/24
Commissioning Official

Term Length

Education

Alabama County Probate Judges and Secretary of ~ |$50,000 4 years
State Required for new and renewing
Alaska Office of Lieutenant Governor $2,500 4 years
Arizona Secretary of State $5.,000 4 years Yes Training not required but may be used with the exam.
Arkansas Secretary of State $7,500 10 years Yes; for electronic Notaries Yes; for electronic Notaries. A refresher course must be completed
every two years.
California Secretary of State $15,000 4 years Yes; Proctored; New and renewing Notaries New Notaries -- 6 hours Renewing Notaries — 3 hours
Colorado Secretary of State 4 years Yes; Notaries who do not hold a commission must pass an exam  |Yes; renewing Notaries must also take an educational course.
Yes; for renewing Notaries Yes; for Notaries performing remote notarizations.
Connecticut Secretary of State 5 years Yes: On commission application
Delaware Secretary of State 2 years initial term and
then 4 years after
D.C. Mayor through the Office of Notary $2,000 5 years Yes; Notary applicants must attend an orientation session
Commissions and Authentications covering the Notary laws and rules in D.C.
Yes; applicants for an Electronic Notary endorsement must take
a course of instruction.
FElorida Secretary of State $7,500 traditional 4 years Yes; 3 hours live or interactive for new Notaries only; Yes; 2 hours
$25,000 online for Online Notaries beginning January 1, 2020
Georgia Georgia Superior Court Clerks’ Cooperative 4 years
Authority
Hawaii Attorney General $1,000 4 years Yes
ldaho Secretary of State $10,000 6 years Yes, required by rule
Hlinois Secretary of State $5,000 traditional 4 years Authorizes the Secretary of State to require Notaries and electronic |Yes, initial and renewing Notaries and Electronic Notaries
$25,000 online Notaries to take an exam effective must take a course.
January 1, 2022, or when the Secretary publishes rules, whichever
is later.
Indiana Secretary of State $25,000 8 years Yes; new and renewing Notaries Yes; for new Notaries.
Yes; 2 hours for renewing Notaries.
lowa Secretary of State 3 years Required for Notaries who perform remote notarial acts
and renewing Notaries who perform remote notarial acts.
Kansas Secretary of State $12,000 4 years Yes; for remote Notaries beginning January 1, 2022. Yes; remote Notaries beginning January 1, 2022.
Kentucky Secretary of State $1,000 4 years Yes, required by rule
Louisiana Secretary of State $10,000 Lifetime Yes (nonattorneys) A study guide is available for $100 to assist with passing the
examination. Required for online notary
Maine Secretary of State 7 years Yes: On commission application Yes, remote notaries
Maryland Secretary of State 4 years Yes; for initial applicants beginning October 1, 2020. Yes; for both new and renewing applicants beginning October 1,
2020
Massachusetts Secretary of State 7 years Yes, required by rule for initial commission



https://nnainternal.atlassian.net/wiki/spaces/ETS/pages/3181314912/Alabama+U.S.+Notary+Reference
https://nnainternal.atlassian.net/wiki/spaces/ETS/pages/3181413006/Alaska+U.S.+Notary+Reference
https://nnainternal.atlassian.net/wiki/spaces/ETS/pages/3181314860/Arizona+U.S.+Notary+Reference
https://nnainternal.atlassian.net/wiki/spaces/ETS/pages/3181347347/Arkansas+U.S+Notary+Reference
https://nnainternal.atlassian.net/wiki/spaces/ETS/pages/3181314797/California+U.S.+Notary+Reference
https://nnainternal.atlassian.net/wiki/spaces/ETS/pages/3181314768/Colorado+U.S.+Notary+Reference
https://nnainternal.atlassian.net/wiki/spaces/ETS/pages/3181314715/Connecticut+U.S.+Notary+Reference
https://nnainternal.atlassian.net/wiki/spaces/ETS/pages/3181347295/Delaware+U.S.+Notary+Reference
https://nnainternal.atlassian.net/wiki/spaces/ETS/pages/3181347246/District+of+Columbia+U.S.+Notary+Reference
https://nnainternal.atlassian.net/wiki/spaces/ETS/pages/3181314647/Florida+U.S.+Notary+Reference
https://nnainternal.atlassian.net/wiki/spaces/ETS/pages/3181347190/Georgia+U.S.+Notary+Reference
https://nnainternal.atlassian.net/wiki/spaces/ETS/pages/3181412955/Hawaii+U.S.+Notary+Reference
https://nnainternal.atlassian.net/wiki/spaces/ETS/pages/3181347104/Idaho+U.S.+Notary+Reference
https://nnainternal.atlassian.net/wiki/spaces/ETS/pages/3193503746/Illinois+U.S.+Notary+Reference
https://nnainternal.atlassian.net/wiki/spaces/ETS/pages/3181412839/Indiana+U.S.+Notary+Reference
https://nnainternal.atlassian.net/wiki/spaces/ETS/pages/3181314593/Iowa+U.S.+Notary+Reference
https://nnainternal.atlassian.net/wiki/spaces/ETS/pages/3181314535/Kansas+U.S.+Notary+Reference
https://nnainternal.atlassian.net/wiki/spaces/ETS/pages/3181347052/Kentucky+U.S.+Notary+Reference
https://nnainternal.atlassian.net/wiki/spaces/ETS/pages/3181314486/Louisiana+U.S.+Notary+Reference
https://nnainternal.atlassian.net/wiki/spaces/ETS/pages/3181412793/Maine+U.S.+Notary+Reference
https://nnainternal.atlassian.net/wiki/spaces/ETS/pages/3181347003/Maryland+U.S.+Notary+Reference
https://nnainternal.atlassian.net/wiki/spaces/ETS/pages/3181412627/Massachusetts+U.S.+Notary+Reference

Michigan Secretary of State 6 years
Minnesota Secretary of State $10,000 5 years
Yes, remote notaries
Mississippi Secretary of State $5,000 4 years
Missouri Secretary of State $10,000 4 years Yes; New and renewing Notaries, Electronic Notaries and
Remote Online Notaries; online or written course.
Montana Secretary of State $25,000 4 years Yes; for both new and renewing Notary applicants Yes, 4 hours for new Notary applicants beginning October
Yes: for Notaries using an electronic notarization system or 1, 2020.
communication technology to perform online notarizations Yes: 4 hours of continuing education for renewal applicants
beginning October 1, 2020.
Yes; for online Notaries beginning October 1, 2020. Yes; for
Notaries using an electronic notarization system or
communication technology to perform online
notarizatinng
Nebraska Secretary of State $15,000 4 years Yes: Open-book exam. Yes, for Electronic Notaries.
Yes; for online Notaries beginning July 1, 2020. Yes, for Online Notaries beginning July 1, 2020.
Nevada Secretary of State $10,000 4 years Yes, Notaries Public. Yes, Electronic Notaries. Yes; 3 hours for new and renewing Notaries. Yes; for Electronic
Notaries.
New Hampshire  |Secretary of State 5 years
New Jersey State Treasurer 5 years Yes, for new and renewal Notaries effective July 22, 2022. Yes, for new and renewing Notaries effective July 22, 2022.
New Mexico Secretary of State $10,000 4 years Yes; for applicants who do not hold a Notary commission effective  |Yes; initial applicants for a Notary commission and automatic
January 1, 2022. notarial officers must take a course.
New York Secretary of State 4 years Yes: Proctored; New Notaries and Notaries whose commission
have lapsed by more than 6 months
N. Carolina Secretary of State 5 years Yes Yes; new Notary applicants; community college course; Yes; course
required for Electronic and Online Notaries.
North Dakota Secretary of State $7,500 4 years
Ohio Secretary of State 5 years Yes Yes: 3 hours for new commission applicants; 1 hour for renewing
applicants.
Yes; for Online Notaries.
Oklahoma Secretary of State $1,000 4 years
Oregon Secretary of State 4 years Yes: On commission application Yes: 3 hours for new commission applicants. Renewing Notaries
who apply for a new commission and pass the
exam before the expiration of their current term are exempted.
Pennsylvania Secretary of the Commonwealth $10,000 4 years Yes, effective late 2017 Yes; new Notaries only: 3 hours live or interactive.
Rhode Island Secretary of State 4 years Training is provided but not required
South Carolina Secretary of State 10 years Yes, for Electronic Notaries. Yes; Electronic Notaries must take a course.
South Dakota Secretary of State $5,000 6 years
Tennessee Secretary of State $10,000 4 years
Training required every 4 years in the form of video and |
Texas Secretary of State $10,000 4 years PowerPoint presentations
Utah Lieutenant Governor $5,000 4 years Yes, fee is $95
Vermont Secretary of State 2 years Yes; new Notary applicants applying after February 1, 2021. Yes; 2 hours of continuing education required beginning in 2021.
Virginia Governor appoints and Secretary of 4 years

Commonwealth commissions



https://nnainternal.atlassian.net/wiki/spaces/ETS/pages/3181412580/Michigan+U.S.+Notary+Reference
https://nnainternal.atlassian.net/wiki/spaces/ETS/pages/3181412530/Minnesota+U.S.+Notary+Reference
https://nnainternal.atlassian.net/wiki/spaces/ETS/pages/3181346898/Mississippi+U.S.+Notary+Reference
https://nnainternal.atlassian.net/wiki/spaces/ETS/pages/3181314223/Missouri+U.S.+Notary+Reference
https://nnainternal.atlassian.net/wiki/spaces/ETS/pages/3181412432/Montana+U.S.+Notary+Reference
https://nnainternal.atlassian.net/wiki/spaces/ETS/pages/3181412382/Nebraska+U.S.+Notary+Reference
https://nnainternal.atlassian.net/wiki/spaces/ETS/pages/3181412353/Nevada+U.S.+Notary+Reference
https://nnainternal.atlassian.net/wiki/spaces/ETS/pages/3181314172/New+Hampshire+U.S.+Notary+Reference
https://nnainternal.atlassian.net/wiki/spaces/ETS/pages/3181314102/New+Jersey+U.S.+Notary+Reference
https://nnainternal.atlassian.net/wiki/spaces/ETS/pages/3181346817/New+Mexico+U.S.+Notary+Reference
https://nnainternal.atlassian.net/wiki/spaces/ETS/pages/3114762310/New+York+Chapter+U.S.+Notary+Reference
https://nnainternal.atlassian.net/wiki/spaces/ETS/pages/3181314049/North+Carolina+U.S.+Notary+Reference
https://nnainternal.atlassian.net/wiki/spaces/ETS/pages/3180396861/North+Dakota+U.S.+Notary+Reference
https://nnainternal.atlassian.net/wiki/spaces/ETS/pages/3179348600/Ohio+U.S.+Notary+Reference
https://nnainternal.atlassian.net/wiki/spaces/ETS/pages/3180593447/Oklahoma+U.S.+Notary+Reference
https://nnainternal.atlassian.net/wiki/spaces/ETS/pages/3179348546/Oregon+Notary+Reference
https://nnainternal.atlassian.net/wiki/spaces/ETS/pages/3180593394/Pennsylvania+U.S.+Notary+Reference
https://nnainternal.atlassian.net/wiki/spaces/ETS/pages/3179348498/Rhode+Island+U.S.+Notary+Reference
https://nnainternal.atlassian.net/wiki/spaces/ETS/pages/3179348446/South+Carolina+U.S.+Notary+Reference
https://nnainternal.atlassian.net/wiki/spaces/ETS/pages/3180593337/South+Dakota+U.S.+Notary+Reference
https://nnainternal.atlassian.net/wiki/spaces/ETS/pages/3180396793/Tennessee+U.S.+Notary+Reference
https://nnainternal.atlassian.net/wiki/spaces/ETS/pages/3180396737/Texas+U.S.+Notary+Reference
https://nnainternal.atlassian.net/wiki/spaces/ETS/pages/3179348391/Utah+U.S.+Notary+Reference
https://nnainternal.atlassian.net/wiki/spaces/ETS/pages/3180593284/Vermont+U.S.+Notary+Reference
https://nnainternal.atlassian.net/wiki/spaces/ETS/pages/3180593227/Virginia+U.S.+Notary+Reference

Washington Director of Licensing commissions $10,000 4 years
West Virginia Secretary of State 5 years
No longer required
as of 2018
Wisconsin Governor appoints and Secretary of $500 4 years Yes Yes, Electronic Notaries must take a course
Financial Instituitions regulates
Wyoming Secretary of State 6 years Yes Required for new and renewal Notaries beginning July 1, 2021.
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https://nnainternal.atlassian.net/wiki/spaces/ETS/pages/3180396573/Washington+U.S.+Notary+Reference
https://nnainternal.atlassian.net/wiki/spaces/ETS/pages/3179348254/West+Virginia+U.S.+Notary+Reference
https://nnainternal.atlassian.net/wiki/spaces/ETS/pages/3180396631/Wisconsin+U.S.+Notary+Reference
https://nnainternal.atlassian.net/wiki/spaces/ETS/pages/3179348317/Wyoming+U.S.+Notary+Reference

