

Legislative Fiscal Office 82nd Oregon Legislative Assembly 2024 Regular Session

Prepared by:	Emily Coates
Reviewed by:	Wendy Gibson, Michelle Deister, April McDonald, John Terpening, Kim To
Date:	February 28, 2024

Bill Title: Relating to state financial administration; declaring an emergency.

Government Unit(s) Affected: Department of Agriculture, Department of Environmental Quality, Department of Public Safety Standards and Training, Higher Education Coordinating Commission, Oregon Liquor and Cannabis Commission

Summary of Fiscal Impact

 Costs related to the measure are anticipated to be minimal for the Oregon Department of Agriculture (ODA), Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ), Department of Public Safety Standards and Training (DPSST), Higher Education Coordinating Commission (HECC), and Oregon Liquor and Cannabis Commission (OLCC) - see explanatory analysis.

Measure Description

The measure is the omnibus fee ratification bill for the 2024 Legislative Session. Under ORS 291.055, proposed fee changes in between legislative sessions must be administratively approved by the Department of Administrative Services, and then must be ratified at the next regular Legislative Session. This measure contains fee modifications for ODA, DEQ, DPSST, HECC, and OLCC as detailed below.

Fiscal Analysis

The following agencies are requesting fee modifications.

Department of Public Safety Standards and Training

The measure establishes the following fees for the Private Security Entity Licensing Program, as authorized by HB 2527 (2021) to cover the costs of administering this new program:

- Private Security Entity License Fee: \$624
- Late Renewal Fee: \$50
- Duplicate or Replacement License Fee: \$24
- Non-sufficient Funds Penalty Fee: \$25

The agency anticipates \$921,024 Other Funds revenue for the 2023-25 biennium.

Higher Education Coordinating Commission

The measure includes a fee increase for the Private Career School (PCS) fingerprint and background check. Fees were last increased in 2013 and are no longer sufficient to support the cost of processing fingerprint and background checks. The measure increases the PCS fingerprint and background check fee to \$140 and is estimated to increase Other Funds revenue by \$14,000 in the 2023-25 biennium.

Department of Agriculture

The measure establishes a late application fee for a Hemp Grow Site License. The fee will be \$250 and ODA estimates \$5,000 Other Funds revenue for the 2023-25 biennium. Additionally, the measure establishes two new license types for the Pesticides Program; noncommercial pesticide applicator and noncommercial pesticide

Only impacts on original or engrossed versions are considered official

trainee, as authorized by HB 4062 (2022). The measure establishes the following fees within the Pesticides Program:

- Noncommercial Pesticide Applicator License per year, including one category: \$50
- Noncommercial Pesticide Applicator License per year, for each additional category: \$7.50
- Noncommercial Pesticide Applicator License per year, for each additional category after license issued: \$12.50
- Noncommercial Pesticide Trainee License: \$50

The agency anticipates no revenue impact in the 2023-25 biennium. The new fees being established will apply to applicants currently licensed under the commercial applicator license, which is the same fee amount. Qualifying applicants will change to the new noncommercial licenses upon expiration of their commercial licenses.

Department of Environmental Quality

The measure establishes the following fees for the Fuel Tank Seismic Stability Program, as authorized by SB 1567 (2022), to cover the costs of Seismic Vulnerability Assessment and Risk Mitigation Implementation Plan reviews and program administration costs:

- Seismic Risk Assessment Submittal Fee: \$39,000
- Annual Compliance Fee: \$23,000
- Risk Mitigation Implementation Plan Submittal Fee: \$36,000

The agency anticipates \$1.7 million Other Funds revenue in the 2023-25 biennium.

The measure establishes the Mattress Stewardship fee for the Mattress Stewardship Program, as authorized by SB 1576 (2022), to cover the administrative costs of the program. The fee will be \$205,000 and is estimated to increase Other Funds revenue by \$205,000 in the 2023-25 biennium. Additionally, the measure increases the Carrier Permit Annual Compliance fee for the Waste Tire Management Program from \$175 to \$200 and the agency estimates \$5,200 Other Funds revenue for the 2023-25 biennium.

The Legislative Fiscal Office notes that fee reductions or abolishment's do not require ratification. However, it should be noted that, in conjunction with increasing the Carrier Permit Annual Compliance fee for the Waste Tire program, DEQ is also abolishing several historic fees associated with the transportation and disposal of waste tires. These fee adjustments were included as part of broader rulemaking efforts to modernize and clean up modifications made in the early 1990s.

Oregon Liquor and Cannabis Commission

The measure establishes the Alcohol Delivery Training Program Review fee for the Liquor Licensing Division, as authorized in HB 3308 (2023). The fee will be \$250 and is estimated to increase Other Funds revenue by \$37,500 in the 2023-25 biennium.

Relevant Dates

The measure declares an emergency and takes effect on passage.