

900 COURT ST NE S101 SALEM, OREGON 97301-4065 (503) 986-1243 FAX: (503) 373-1043 www.oregonlegislature.gov/lc

Open Government Impact Statement

82nd Oregon Legislative Assembly 2024 Regular Session

Measure: SB 1536

Only impacts on Original or Engrossed Versions are Considered Official

Prepared by: Dexter A. Johnson

Date: 2/5/2024

SUMMARY

Digest: The Act says that no one may perform an abortion on a person unless a health care worker finds that the person is less than 15 weeks pregnant, unless the abortion is needed because of an urgent health need, rape or incest. The Act describes when an urgent health need allows an abortion on a person who is 15 or more weeks pregnant. The Act allows a health care worker licensing board to punish a health care worker who fails to comply with the provisions of the Act. The Act requires OHA to provide public reports of certain data about abortions. The Act allows a person who had an abortion that did not comply with the terms of the Act to sue the health care worker who performed the abortion. The Act goes into effect 91 days after the session ends. (Flesch Readability Score: 64.1).

Prohibits an abortion unless a health care provider first determines the probable gestational age of the unborn child, except in the case of a medical emergency. Defines "abortion" and "health care provider." Prohibits the abortion of an unborn child with a probable gestational age of 15 or more weeks, except in the case of a medical emergency, rape or incest. Requires that abortion of an unborn child with probable gestational age of 15 or more weeks be performed or induced in specified facilities and with specific safeguards in place. Allows specified persons to bring an action against a health care provider for violations. Requires a health care provider who performs or induces, or attempts to perform or induce, an abortion to file a report with Oregon Health Authority. Requires the authority to publish annually statistics relating to abortion. Allows specified persons to bring a cause of action for actual and punitive damages and injunctive relief against a health care provider for violation.

Takes effect on the 91st day following adjournment sine die.

OPEN GOVERNMENT IMPACT

Legislative Counsel has not adopted standards for drafting measures that establish exemptions from disclosure of public records.

This measure exempts from public disclosure the report that is required to be filed with the Oregon Health Authority by a health care provider who performs or induces, or attempts to perform or induce, an abortion.

If those public records that could be subject to public disclosure were instead subject to mandatory disclosure under public records law, the public could gain information contained in the report required to be filed by a health care provider who performs or induces, or attempts to perform or induce, an abortion.