Memorandum

PREPARED FOR: Senate Committee on Rules DATE: January 30, 2024 BY: Leslie Porter, Analyst RE: Legislative Review of Executive Appointments



TEACHER STANDARDS AND PRACTICES COMMISSION

The Governor has appointed the following individuals to the Teacher Standards and Practices Commission subject to Senate confirmation.¹

New Appointees

Mona Khalil of Sherwood

Reappointees

Jessica Classen of Portland Martha Gross of Portland Robert Waltenburg of Dayville Michelle York of Beaverton

Terms

Classen: January 1, 2022 – December 31, 2024 Gross: January 1, 2024 – December 31, 2026 Khalil: February 16, 2024 – December 31, 2026 Waltenburg: January 1, 2025 – December 31, 2027 York: January 1, 2023 – December 31, 2025

Appointment/Confirmation Authority

ORS 342.350 (2023)

Statement of Economic Interest²

Not required.

Composition³

The commission consists of 17 members, including:⁴

• four elementary school teachers (CARRASCO, JIMENEZ, KHALIL, VACANT);

⁴ <u>ORS 342.350 to 342.360 (2023)</u> and reflects a change in membership established by <u>House Bill 3383 (2023)</u> (<u>Chapter 440, Oregon Laws 2023</u>).

¹ Or. Const. art. III sect. 4, ORS 171.562 and 171.565 (2023). (2021).

² ORS 244.050 (2023).

³ <u>ORS 182.100 (2023)</u> for affirmative action policy; <u>ORS 236.115 (2023)</u> for diversity criteria.

- four middle school or high school teachers (GARCIA ARRIOLA, BARNEY, CLASSEN, YORK);
- one elementary school administrator (VACANT);
- one middle school or high school administrator (BARE);
- one superintendent of a school district (ZWEMKE);
- one superintendent of an education service district (WALTENBURG);
- one faculty member of an approved educator preparation provider within a private college or university (KONDOR);
- one faculty member of an approved educator preparation provider within a public university (NEWMAN);
- one school district board member (YING);
- one classified staff member at a public school or for an education service district (VACANT); and
- one public member (GROSS).

Members serve three-year terms. One member must be a licensed teacher with a special education endorsement or have related experience. Except for public members and school district board members, members must have been actively engaged in their respective occupations for five years immediately preceding appointment. The commission selects its chair and vice chair and meets at least once every six months.

Duties⁵

The commission regulates teaching programs offered by colleges and universities; licensure for teachers, administrators, and other personnel; and disciplines educators.

The commission must:

- appoint an executive director;
- administer licensing for educators and other personnel employed in schools;
- adopt rules for administering specified statutes;
- establish a public charter school teacher and administrator registry;
- administer a pilot program on alternative authorization requirements for teachers of noncore courses;
- establish and collect fees;
- adopt standards for approving educator preparation providers and programs;
- award grants from the Teacher Education Program Accreditation Account;

⁵ ORS 342.121 to 342.430 (2023).



- assess proficiencies developed through Braille courses that are consistent with national standards; and
- investigate complaints, render decisions, and publish information about individuals subject to discipline.

The commission may:

- accept any grant, donation, or gift for the National Board Certification Fund;
- disburse moneys from the National Board Certification Fund to applicants for financial assistance with costs of obtaining national board certification;
- establish teaching licenses as necessary for operation of public schools;
- refuse to issue, or suspend or revoke, a license or registration; and
- issue a license to an out-of-state applicant if professional requirements are met.



Teacher Standards and Practices Commission

Agency: Teacher Standards & Practices Commission	Policy Area: Education
Authorization: ORS 342.350380	Board Admin: Melissa Goff
Min Members: 17 Max Members: 17	Address:
Term Length: 3 Term Limit: 2	250 Division Street NE
Senate Confirmation Required?: Yes	Salem, OR 97301
	melissa.goff@oregon.gov

Current Appointments

Ms Gross, Martha D	Term(s):	1/1/2024 - 12/31/2026
Public Member		1/1/2021 - 12/31/2023
Position Number: 17		1/1/2018 - 12/31/2020
Ms Carrasco, Iris	Term(s):	9/28/2018 - 12/31/2020
Elementary Teacher		
Position Number: 2		
Khalil, Mona	Term(s):	2/16/2024 - 12/31/2026
Elementary Teacher		
Position Number: 3		
Ms Jimenez, Liliana	Term(s):	1/1/2018 - 12/31/2020
Elementary Teacher		9/26/2016 - 12/31/2017
Position Number: 4		
Garcia Arriola, Alfonso	Term(s):	10/5/2023 - 12/31/2026
Secondary Teacher		
Position Number: 5		
Dr York, Michelle C	Term(s):	1/1/2023 - 12/31/2025
Secondary Teacher		10/1/2020 - 12/31/2022
Position Number: 6		
Ms Barney, Jessica L	Term(s):	1/1/2019 - 12/31/2021
High School Teacher		
Position Number: 7		
Ms Classen, Jessica	Term(s):	1/1/2022 - 12/31/2024
Secondary Teacher		1/1/2019 - 12/31/2021

Mrs Bare, Erika J	Term(s):	9/28/2018 - 12/31/2020
Jr/High School Principal		
Position Number: 10		
Zwemke, Jon	Term(s):	3/1/2022 - 12/31/2024
School District Superintendent		
Position Number: 11		
Mr Waltenburg, Robert E	Term(s):	1/1/2025 - 12/31/2027
Superintendent		1/1/2022 - 12/31/2024
Position Number: 12		
Dr Kondor, Carrie Ann "Carrie" H EDD	Term(s):	1/1/2022 - 12/31/2024
State Institution of Higher Education, Private		
Position Number: 13		
Dr Newman, Rae Ette V PhD	Term(s):	9/23/2019 - 12/31/2020
State Institution of Higher Learning		
Position Number: 14		
Ying, Helen L	Term(s):	1/1/2022 - 12/31/2024
School Board Member		
Position Number: 15		

Vacant Positions

Pos	Former Member	Appointed By	Term Begin	Term End
1	Ms Gross, Martha D	Governor	1/1/2021	12/31/2023
1	Ms Gross, Martha D	Governor	1/1/2018	12/31/2020
1	Mr Matsumoto, Jeffrey K	Governor	1/1/2014	12/31/2016
1	Mr Matsumoto, Jeffrey K	Governor	1/1/2011	12/31/2013
1	Mr Matsumoto, Jeffrey K	Governor	10/1/2009	12/31/2010
1	Mrs Takata, Monica	Governor	2/18/2008	12/31/2010
Pos	Former Member	Appointed By	Term Begin	Term End
9	Mrs Tolento, Teresa	Governor	10/1/2020	12/31/2022
9	Mrs Cobb, Olga L	Governor	1/1/2015	12/31/2017
9 9	Mrs Cobb, Olga L Mrs Cobb, Olga L	Governor Governor	1/1/2015 3/1/2012	12/31/2017 12/31/2014
	<u> </u>			
9	Mrs Cobb, Olga L	Governor	3/1/2012	12/31/2014

Pos	Former Member	Appointed By	Term Begin	Term End
16	Davies, Joshua	Governor	3/1/2022	12/31/2023
16	Marson, Erica N	Governor	1/1/2019	12/31/2021
16	Ms Chesebro, Annmarie C	Governor	1/1/2016	12/31/2018
16	Ms Chesebro, Annmarie C	Governor	1/1/2013	12/31/2015