Memorandum

PREPARED FOR: Senate Committee on Rules

DATE: January 30, 2024 BY: Leslie Porter, Analyst

RE: Legislative Review of Executive Appointments



SUSTAINABILITY BOARD

The Governor has appointed the following individuals to the Sustainability Board subject to Senate confirmation.¹

New Appointees

Johanna Anderson of Portland Webly Bowles of Portland Taneea Browning of Central Point Cheyenne Holliday of Gresham Joshua Proudfoot of Eugene Elin Shepard of Salem

Terms

February 16, 2024 - December 31, 2027

Appointment/Confirmation Authority

ORS 184.427 (2023)

Statement of Economic Interest²

Not required.

Composition³

The board consists of:

- the Governor or their designee (VACANT); and
- 10 Oregon residents from around the state, from communities with the demonstrated ability to work collaboratively with people of diverse interests (BURKHOLDER, BROWNING, DIETRICH, HOLLIDAY, WILBURN), including individuals with experience in:
 - business (BOWLES, HOLLINGSWORTH, PROUDFOOT);
 - natural resources (SHEPARD);
 - community health;
 - o economics;
 - o sustainability (ANDERSON); or
 - o conservation of natural resources.

¹ Or. Const. art. III sect. 4, ORS 171.562 (2023), ORS 171.565 (2023).

² ORS 244.050 (2023).

³ ORS 184.427 (2023); ORS 182.100 (2023) for affirmative action policy; ORS 236.115 (2023) for diversity criteria.

Members serve four-year terms, are eligible for reappointment, and must be removed for failure to maintain appointment requirements.

The Governor or their designee serves as the chair. The board selects its vice chair. A majority constitutes a quorum. The board must meet at least once every three months.⁴

Duties⁵

The board encourages activities that best sustain, protect, and enhance the environment, economy, and community for the present and future benefit of Oregonians.

The board must:

- identify, evaluate, make recommendations, and propose legislation, regulatory changes, or policy modifications to agencies, the Governor, the Legislative Assembly, private entities, or other bodies;
- develop and promote policies and programs to meet sustainability goals;
- submit a biennial report to the Legislative Assembly;
- consult with trade associations, organizations, businesses, and other groups;
- develop and promote proposals that jointly and mutually enhance local economies, the environment, and community health; and
- administer the Sustainability Board Fund.

The board may:

- apply for, and accept, appropriations, gifts, or grants of money or other property;
 and
- adopt rules necessary for governing its operations and procedures.

⁵ ORS 184.421 to 184.435 (2023).



⁴ ORS 184.431 (2023).

Sustainability Board

Agency: Administrative Services, Department of

Authorization: ORS 184.427 & .431

Min Members: 11 Max Members: 11

Term Length: 4 Term Limit: 2

Senate Confirmation Required?: Yes

Policy Area: Natural Resources

Board Admin: Dave Wortman

Address:

Department of Administrative Services

1225 Ferry St. SE, U100

Salem, OR 97301 971-304-8733

David.WORTMAN@das.oregon.gov

Current Appointments

Anderson, Johanna

Sustainablity Position Number: 2

Mr Burkholder, Rex B

Position Number: 3

Bowles, Webly Position Number: 4

Proudfoot, Joshua

Small Business

Position Number: 5

Shepard, Elin

Natural resources, community health or economics

Position Number: 6

Ms Dietrich, Serena S

Position Number: 7

Wilburn, Autumn

Position Number: 8

Holliday, Cheyenne

Position Number: 9

Browning, Taneea

Position Number: 10

Ms. Hollingsworth, Lori L

Business

Position Number: 11

Term(s):

Term(s):

Term(s):

2/16/2024 - 12/31/2027

1/1/2023 - 12/31/2026 3/1/2019 - 12/31/2022

2/16/2024 - 12/31/2027

Term(s):

2/16/2024 - 12/31/2027

2/16/2024 - 12/31/2027

Term(s):

Term(s):

1/1/2016 - 12/31/2019

10/1/2015 - 12/31/2015

Term(s):

9/28/2022 - 12/31/2025

Term(s):

2/16/2024 - 12/31/2027

Term(s):

2/16/2024 - 12/31/2027

Term(s):

1/1/2016 - 12/31/2019

6/1/2012 - 12/31/2015

Vacant Positions				
Pos	Former Member	Appointed By	Term Begin	Term End
1	Secretary Fagan, Shemia	Statute/Bill		
1	Mr Wolf, Greg W	Governor		
1	Mr Bradbury, William "Bill"	Governor		