Memorandum

PREPARED FOR: Senate Committee on Rules

DATE: January 30, 2024 BY: Leslie Porter, Analyst

RE: Legislative Review of Executive Appointments



STATE BOARD OF DENTURE TECHNOLOGY

The Governor has appointed the following individual to the State Board of Denture Technology subject to Senate confirmation.¹

New Appointee

Jennifer Fergusson of Portland

Term

February 16, 2024 – February 15, 2027

Appointment/Confirmation Authority

ORS 680.556 (2023)

Statement of Economic Interest²

Not required.

Composition³

The board consists of seven Oregon residents, including:4

- four licensed denturists (CHAPMAN, FARRIS, SMITH, YOUNG);
- one Oregon-licensed dentist in active practice (SCHWANDT); and
- two public members who do not possess the professional qualifications of other members and who are not a spouse, domestic partner, child, parent, or sibling of an actively licensed denturist or dentist (FERGUSSON, VACANT).

Members serve three-year terms; the board must meet at least once each year and annually elect a chair.⁵ Board members required to be denturists may be selected from a list of three to five nominees, submitted by a professional organization representing denturists.

Duties⁶

The board must establish policies and criteria for the assessment of the quality of the practice of denture technology based on practice standards subject to the approval of the Oregon Health Authority's Health Licensing Office.

¹ Or. Const. art. III sect. 4, ORS 171.562 (2023), ORS 171.565 (2023).

² ORS 244.050 (2023).

³ ORS 182.100 (2023) for affirmative action policy; ORS 236.115 (2023) for diversity criteria.

⁴ ORS 680.556 (2023).

⁵ ORS 680.560 (2023).

⁶ ORS 680.550 (2023).

Denture Technology, State Board of

Agency: Health Licensing Office

Authorization: ORS 680.556 & .560

Min Members: 7 Max Members: 7

Term Length: 3 Term Limit: 2

Senate Confirmation Required?: Yes

Policy Area: Health

Board Admin: Derek Fultz

Address:

Health Licensing Office

1430 Tandem Ave. NE, Suite 180

Salem, OR 97301 503-373-1915

DEREK.J.FULTZ@dhsoha.state.or.us

Current Appointments

Mr Farris, Ronald "Ron" D

Denturist

Position Number: 1

Term(s):

3/1/2023 - 2/28/2026

3/1/2020 - 2/28/2023

Mr Young, Michael "Todd" Todd

Denturist

Position Number: 3

Term(s):

3/1/2021 - 2/29/2024

7/1/2005 - 6/30/2008

9/1/2002 - 6/30/2005

Smith, Grant A

Denturist

Position Number: 2

Term(s):

9/23/2022 - 9/22/2025

9/23/2019 - 9/22/2022

Mr Chapman, Christopher R LD

Denturist

Dentunst

Term(s):

9/26/2019 - 9/25/2022

9/26/2016 - 9/25/2019

Position Number: 4

Fergusson, Jennifer

Public Member

Position Number: 5

Term(s):

2/16/2024 - 2/15/2027

Schwandt, Bruce

Licensed Dentist

Position Number: 6

Term(s):

10/5/2023 - 10/4/2026

Vacant Positions

Pos	Former Member	Appointed By	Term Begin	Term End
7	Ms Cunningham, Cindy R	Governor	10/1/2012	9/30/2015
7	Ms Cunningham, Cindy R	Governor	10/1/2009	9/30/2012
7	Ms Uebelacker, Genie F	Governor	3/6/2006	6/30/2008
7	Ms Overholser, Janet M	Governor	7/1/2003	6/30/2006
7	Ms Overholser, Janet M	Governor	3/16/2001	6/30/2003