# Memorandum

PREPARED FOR: Senate Committee on Rules

DATE: January 30, 2024 BY: Leslie Porter, Analyst

RE: Legislative Review of Executive Appointments



### LAND CONSERVATION AND DEVELOPMENT COMMISSION

The Governor has appointed the following individual to the Land Conservation and Development Commission subject to Senate confirmation.<sup>1</sup>

### **New Appointee**

Ellen Porter of Roseburg

### Reappointee

Ellen Porter of Roseburg

#### **Terms**

February 16, 2024 – September 30, 2024 October 1, 2024 – September 30, 2028

## **Appointment/Confirmation Authority**

ORS 197.030 (2023)

### Statement of Economic Interest<sup>2</sup>

Required.

# Composition<sup>3</sup>

The commission consists of seven members, including:

- one representative of Clatsop, Columbia, Coos, Curry, Lincoln, and Tillamook Counties, and Douglas and Lane Counties west of the summit of the Coast Range (THOMPSON);
- two representatives of Clackamas, Multnomah, and Washington Counties (HALLOVÁ, LAZO);
- one representative of Benton, Linn, Marion, Polk, and Yamhill Counties, and of Lane County east of the summit of the Coast Range (WARREN);
- one representative of Jackson and Josephine Counties, and Douglas County east of the summit of the Coast Range (PORTER);

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> Or. Const. art. III sect. 4, ORS 171.562 (2023) and ORS 171.565 (2023).

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>2</sup> ORS 244.050 (2023).

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>3</sup> ORS 197.030 (2023); ORS 182.100 (2023) for affirmative action policy; ORS 236.115 (2023) for diversity criteria.

- one representative of Baker, Crook, Deschutes, Gilliam, Grant, Harney, Hood River, Jefferson, Klamath, Lake, Malheur, Morrow, Sherman, Umatilla, Union, Wallowa, Wasco, and Wheeler Counties (LELACK); and
- one representative of Benton, Clackamas, Linn, Marion, Multnomah, Polk, Washington, and Yamhill Counties, and Lane County east of the summit of the Coast Range (BOYER).

Membership must include at least one current or former Oregon elected city official and at least one current elected county official (THOMPSON). Members serve four-year terms and may be removed for cause. The commission selects its chair and vice chair.<sup>4</sup>

#### **Duties**<sup>5</sup>

The commission adopts state land-use goals and implements rules, assures local plan compliance with the goals, coordinates state and local planning, and oversees the coastal zone management program. The commission must:

- advise the Director of the Department of Land Conservation and Development;
- adopt rules and appoint advisory committees;
- cooperate with federal, state, and local governments;
- adopt and amend goals consistent with regional, county, and city concerns;
- prepare, collect, and provide land use inventories;
- prepare statewide planning guidelines and coordinate planning efforts;
- review comprehensive plans for compliance;
- ensure widespread citizen involvement in all phases of the process;
- review and recommend areas of critical concern to the Legislative Assembly;
- report to the Legislative Assembly; and
- review the land use planning responsibilities and authorities given to the state.

#### The commission may:

- apply for and receive moneys from state and federal governments;
- contract with public agencies and outside parties for services;
- develop model land use regulations; and
- review comprehensive plan and land use regulations related to identifying and designating high-value farmland.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>5</sup> ORS 197.040 (2023) and ORS 197.045 (2023).



<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>4</sup> ORS 197.035 (2023).

## **Land Conservation and Development Commission**

Agency: Land Conservation and Development,

**Department of** 

Authorization: ORS 197.030 & .035

Min Members: 7 Max Members: 7

Term Length: 4 Term Limit: 2

Senate Confirmation Required?: Yes

Policy Area: Natural Resources

Board Admin: Brenda Bateman

Address:

**Dept. of Land Conservation and Development** 

635 Capitol Street NE, Suite 150

Salem, OR 97301-2540

503-934-0045

brenda.o.bateman@dlcd.oregon.gov

## **Current Appointments**

Ms Hallova, Anyeley D

Metro Area (2b)

Position Number: 1

Mr Lelack, Nicholas "Nick" C

Eastern Oregon (2e)
Position Number: 2

Ms Boyer, Barbara

2(f) Benton, Clackamas, Linn, Marion, Multnomah, Polk, Washington and Yamhill Counties and that portion of Lane

County lying east of the summit of the Coast Range

Position Number: 3

Lazo, Allan

Metro Area (2b)

Position Number: 4

Dr Sandoval, Gerard F PhD

Willamette Valley (2c)

Position Number: 5

Mr Warren, Stuart S

Willamette Valley 2(c)

Position Number: 5

Commissioner Thompson, Lianne

Coast 2(a); Elected County Official

Position Number: 6

Term(s):

3/1/2022 - 2/28/2026

3/1/2018 - 2/28/2022

Term(s):

7/1/2020 - 6/30/2024

Term(s):

11/19/2021 - 11/18/2025

Term(s):

6/10/2022 - 6/9/2026

Term(s):

12/1/2019 - 11/30/2023

Term(s):

12/1/2023 - 11/30/2027

10/1/2020 - 9/30/2024

2/14/2020 - 9/30/2020

Term(s):

10/5/2023 - 5/31/2026

**Porter, Ellen** Term(s): 10/1/2024 - 9/30/2028

Southern Oregon 2(d) 2/16/2024 - 9/30/2024

Position Number: **7** 

# **Vacant Positions**