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WHAT THE MEASURE DOES:

Permits ORS 127.800 to ORS 127.897 to be cited as the Oregon Death with Dignity Act. Eliminates Oregon
residency requirement. Expands authorized health care providers who may provide services under the Act to
include physician assistants and nurse practitioners. Allows prescription to be delivered to pharmacist by facsimile
or electronic means, if confirmed by phone or other two-way communication device. Permits health care
providers to electronically submit required records. Reduces waiting period from 15 days to 48 hours after a
patient makes a first oral request before the patient must make a second oral request and the provider must wait
before writing a prescription. Removes minimum waiting period of 48 hours after a patient's written request
before prescription may be written, if an attending provider has medically confirmed that the patient will within
reasonable medical judgment die within that time. Eliminates requirement that one witness not be an employee,
operator, or owner of the health care facility where the terminally ill person is a patient or resident.

REVENUE: No revenue impact
FISCAL: No fiscal impact

ISSUES DISCUSSED:

e Most patients requesting end of life medication are within two or three weeks of death, and at least half are
already bedridden

Physical exam requirements

Ensuring that seniors and disabled are not being coerced

Training on evaluation of cognitive capacity

Depression in persons with terminal illness or in long term care

Informed consent requirements

Medical record portability concerns with non-Oregon residents

EFFECT OF AMENDMENT:
No amendment.

BACKGROUND:

Oregon enacted its Death with Dignity Act (the Act) in 1997 to allow terminally ill patients who meet certain
criteria to end their lives through voluntary self-administration of a lethal dose of a medication prescribed by a
physician for that purpose. A qualified patient is at least 18 years of age, is a resident of Oregon, has been
diagnosed with a terminal illness that will lead to death within six months, and is capable of informed
decision-making and communication about health care decisions. The terminal diagnosis and capacity for
informed decision-making must be confirmed by both an attending and a consulting physician. Either of the
physicians must refer the patient to counseling if of the opinion that the patient is suffering from a psychiatric or
psychological disorder or depression causing impaired judgment, and no life-ending medication may be
prescribed during such impairment. A qualified patient must make both an oral and a written request, and must
make a second oral request at least 15 days after the first oral request. The physician must wait 15 days after the
first oral request before writing the prescription, unless the attending physician determines with reasonable
medical judgment that the patient will die within that time period, and the patient makes a second request orally

This summary has not been adopted or officially endorsed by action of the committee. 1of2



SB 891 STAFF MEASURE SUMMARY

or in writing. The patient has the right to rescind the request at any time.

A physician must document certain information in the medical record, and health care providers must file
medication dispensing records with the Oregon Health Authority (OHA). The OHA reviews a sample of medical
records, reports annually with statistical information, and refers any instances of noncompliance with the Act to
the applicable licensing authority. Physicians receive certain immunities and legal protections for services
provided under the Act.

In a March 2022 settlement agreement, the Oregon Health Authority, the Oregon Medical Board, and the
Multnomah County District Attorney's Office agreed not to enforce the Oregon residency requirement for Death
with Dignity patients against physicians. Gideonse v. Brown, et al., Case No. 3:21-cv-01568-AR (D. Or., March 28,
2022).

Senate Bill 891 would allow physician assistants and nurse practitioners to provide services under the Death with
Dignity Act, shorten certain waiting periods before life-ending medication can be prescribed, remove the Oregon
residency requirement, and permit electronic submission of prescriptions and health records.
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