Hood River County Board of Commissioners

Jeff Hecksel, County Administrator

COMMISSIONERS

601 State Street · Hood River, OR 97031 · (541) 386-3970 · FAX (541) 386-9392

Jennifer Euwer– Chair Leticia Moretti–District No. 1 Arthur Babitz – District No. 2 Ed Weathers– District No. 3 Les Perkins – District No. 4

May 9, 2023

Senator Frederick, Co-Chair Representative McLain, Co-Chair Senator Boquist, Co-Vice Chair Representative Boshart Davis, Co-Vice Chair Joint Transportation Committee Oregon State Legislature Salem, OR 97301

Re: Support for HB 3622 – Local Bridges

Dear Co-Chair Frederick, Co-Chair McLain, Co-Vice Chair Boquist, Co-Vice Chair Boshart Davis and Members of the Committee

On behalf of the Hood River County Board of Commissioners, I am writing to support HB 3622 and its funding request for the replacement of the Hood River-White Salmon Bridge. The Port and its partners seek to protect one of the most important transportation infrastructure assets in the Columbia River Gorge and address the region's top economic development priority. This funding is critical in replacing the antiquated bridge.

This bridge currently provides a valuable link between two regions and replacing it will not only provide benefits economically; the people who rely on this bridge for business and recreational purposes will see quality of life benefits as well.

We strongly support the Bi-State Working Group's effort to replace the Hood River-White Salmon Interstate Bridge, without Oregon's commitment this session there will be further delay and increased costs associated with the replacement. The bridge's sufficiency rating score of less than 10 out of 100 is a strong indication that there is no time to waste. Thank you for your work and leadership. Please give strong consideration of our request to fund the replacement of the Hood River Bridge.

Thank you for your consideration.

Sincerely,

─DocuSigned by:

Jennifer Euwer

Jennifer Euwer, Chair

Hood River County Board of Commissioners

Cc: Senate President Rob Wagner
House of Representatives Speaker Dan
Rayfield
Joint Committee on Ways and Means
Co-Chair Senator Elizabeth Steiner
Joint Committee on Ways and Means
Co-Chair Representative Tawna
Sanchez