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CONGRATULATIONS!
The product is exempt from licensing under the Oregon Farm Direct Marketing Law.

Hold on, farmers! You have one more step: check your farmers market rules about 
these products. Some markets may not allow the sale of producer-processed products 
that are not processed in a licensed facility. 

Are the farmer’s total annual sales of producer-processed, value-added  
products less than $20,000?⁵

If the product is an acidified fruit or vegetable:⁶
• Is the farmer using a recipe approved by a recognized process authority?⁷
• Is the farmer testing the pH of the product and keeping records?

Does the farmer grow all of the principal ingredients?
Herbs, spices, salt, vinegar, pectin, lemon or lime juice, honey, and sugar may be 
sourced from other suppliers.

Is the product sold directly to the consumer?⁴ 

Is the product processed by the farmer? 

Is the product one of the following?
• Fruit1-based syrups or fruit in syrup
• Fruit-based jams, jellies, or preserves 

• Acidified2 fruits or vegetables 
• Lacto-fermented3 fruits or vegetables 
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Oregon’s Farm Direct Marketing Law allows farmers 
to turn what they grow into low-risk, value-added 
products like jams and pickles, and to sell them directly 
to consumers without being licensed food processors. 
That sentence—like the law itself—has a lot of detail 
packed into it. This short guide unpacks those details 

for farmers and farmers market managers. (It’s useful 
for other people, too.)

Use this flow chart to determine whether a product 
qualifies for Farm Direct sales. Then read on for more 
information.

* footnotes 
on page 2
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Flow chart footnotes
1. Fruit must have a natural acidity of pH 4.6 or lower. Some 

fruits have a pH4.6 or above, including figs, melons, Asian 
pears, persimmons, and some tomatoes. An acid, like 
standardized vinegar or standardized lemon or lime juice, must 
be added to these products to make them an acidified food and 
ensure their safety.

2. Acidified foods are typically low-acid foods—such as 
cucumbers, beans, beets, and peppers—that have had acid(s) 
added to them to lower the pH. Acidified foods have a finished 
equilibrium pH of 4.6 or lower and a water activity (Aw) 
greater than 0.85. Some examples are vinegar pickles, salsas, 
relishes, hot sauces, and chutneys. Note: Under the Farm 
Direct exemption, only fruits and vegetables can be acidified.

3. Lacto-fermented foods include fruits or vegetables that have 
been naturally fermented by lactic acid-producing bacteria, 
lowering the pH to 4.6 or below. No additional acids are added 
during the fermentation process. Two examples are sauerkraut 
and kimchi.

4. Resale or consignment sales of producer-processed products 
are not allowed.

5. The $20,000 limit only applies to producer-processed, value-added products. See recordkeeping 
requirements below.

6. Naturally acidic foods—such as fruit-based jams, jellies, preserves, and syrups; fruit in syrup; frozen fruit; 
and lacto-fermented vegetables—must be produced in a clean, healthful, and sanitary manner. Refer to 
USDA Complete Guide to Home Canning for more information about best practices. 

7. The following resources contain approved processes: USDA Complete Guide to Home Canning, Pacific 
Northwest Extension Publications, and So Easy to Preserve by the University of Georgia Cooperative 
Extension (see page 4). A unique or new process not found in one of these references may be used only 
if a recognized process authority first approves the process. The OSU Department of Food Science and 
Technology is a recognized process authority.

Additional Resources

Make sure the product label has all the 
required info!

• Product identity

• Name of agricultural producer

• Address of agricultural producer

• Net weight

• List of ingredients (including any major allergens)

• The following notifications:

 - “THIS PRODUCT IS HOMEMADE AND IS 
NOT PREPARED IN AN INSPECTED FOOD 
ESTABLISHMENT.”

 - “NOT FOR RESALE”

Recordkeeping
Sales records are required for all value-added 

products sold under the exemption. Sales records must 
include the product(s) sold, price, quantity sold, and a 
current rolling total of year-to-date sales.

Additional records are required for each batch of 
acidified foods. These records must include the recipe 
source, processing times and procedure, date, and 
finished equilibrium pH value. If an electronic pH meter 
is used, it must be calibrated, and pH meter calibration 
records must be maintained.

Copies of all records must be maintained and kept 
available for the Oregon Department of Agriculture 
(ODA) for a period of three years.
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pH testing
pH meter calibration records and equilibrium pH 

measurement records are required for each batch of 
acidified food.

If the pH of the product is 4.0 or lower, colorimetric 
methods such as litmus paper may be used. However, 
pH litmus paper may not work well with some colored 
products.

If the pH of the product is between 4.0 and 4.6, a pH 
meter with a minimum accuracy of ± 0.01 to 0.02 pH 
must be used. 

Naturally acidic foods like fruit jams and jellies are 
not required to be pH tested, but they must have a pH 
of 4.6 or below. When in doubt, farmers can take pH 
measurements to verify that the product is acidic. 

Certain fruits and vegetables such as persimmons, 
Asian pears, and tomatoes are borderline acidic, and 
products made from them should be pH tested to 
ensure safety. 

Detailed instructions for pH testing can be found 
in Purchasing and Using a pH Meter from University of 
Wisconsin Extension: http://foodsafety.wisc.edu/assets/
pdf_files/what_is_ph.pdf.

Examples of producer-processed products not 
allowed under the Farm Direct Marketing Law  
(This list is not exhaustive.)

• any product with animal protein (e.g., meat, fish, 
dairy, eggs)

• kombucha

• frozen fruits and vegetables 

• apple cider vinegar 

If you are not certain that your product qualifies, 
contact the ODA Food Safety Division. Their contact 
information is found at the end of this publication.

Other products allowed under the Farm Direct 
Agricultural Marketing Law 

All products must be grown and processed by the 
farmer.

• fruits, vegetables, herbs (fresh and dried)

• legumes and seeds (fresh and dried)

• grains (whole, cracked, or ground)

• uncooked parched or roasted grains 

• nuts (shelled and unshelled) 

• flour

• shell eggs

• honey, no additives

The following products are also allowed as long as 
they are prepared on site, not intended for immediate 
consumption, and are packaged to take home: 

• popped popcorn

• roasted nuts

• roasted peppers

• roasted corn-on-the-cob

Oregon department of agriculture FAQs about 
farm direct

Producer-processed, value-added products: http://
www.oregon.gov/ODA/shared/Documents/Publications/
FoodSafety/FarmDirectMarketingProcessedProducers.pdf

Other farm products covered by the law: http://
www.oregon.gov/ODA/shared/Documents/Publications/
FoodSafety/FarmDirectMarketingAgProducts.pdf
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Where to find approved recipes and check yours
ODA recognizes the following references as 

providing approved processes and formulations 
(recipes) for acidified products sold under the Farm 
Direct exemption:

• USDA Complete Guide to Home Canning: http://
nchfp.uga.edu/publications/publications_usda.html

• So Easy to Preserve, from the University of Georgia 
Cooperative Extension: http://setp.uga.edu/

• Pacific Northwest Extension Food Preservation 
publications: more than 60 short (2 to 3 pages), 
downloadable guides offering a wide range 
of home food preservation instructions and 
information http://extension.oregonstate.edu/fch/
food-preservation 

Farmers may also submit a copy of the recipe—
including the product ingredients list, directions, 
formulation, and thermal processes used—to a 
recognized authority for approval. Contact the OSU 
Department of Food Science and Technology for more 
information: http://oregonstate.edu/foodsci/.

Next steps if products don’t qualify for farm direct
Value-added products not covered under the 

Farm Direct exemption—including products made 
from recipes not listed by an approved source or with 
ingredients not grown by the farmer—must be made in 
a licensed facility. There are four options for processing 
in a licensed facility.

• Obtain a domestic kitchen license.

• Build a commercial food processing facility.

• Rent space in a commercial or commissary 
kitchen. This is a good alternative to building 
your own facility. Search online for “commercial 
kitchens for rent.” Keep in mind that you must still 
obtain your own food-processing license. Contact 
your local ODA food safety specialist for more 
information.

• Use a local food processor (also known as a 
co-packer) who will make, package, and label your 
product for you in their licensed facility following 
an approved recipe. Contact OSU’s Food 
Innovation Center (http://fic.oregonstate.edu/) at 
503-872-6680 for a list of co-packers.

For more information about licensing requirements 
for domestic kitchens and commercial facilities, and to 
find your local ODA food safety specialist, visit the ODA 
Food Safety Program web page: http://egov.oregon.gov/
ODA/FSD/.

Note
This document should be regarded strictly as a 

supplement to the Oregon Farm Direct Marketing Rules 
and should never be considered a substitute to reading 
and understanding the regulations. For a complete list 
of requirements, please consult OAR 603-025-0215 
thru 603-025-0275 (https://secure.sos.state.or.us/oard/
viewSingleRule.action;JSESSIONID_OARD=bjRQ0eOsKR-
nNULEPytTIviFNmxLs4ByYoeqCOPI3uWycWGjM
SUA!-330355351?ruleVrsnRsn=156534). 

© 2018 Oregon State University. Extension work is a cooperative program of Oregon State University, the U.S. Department of Agriculture, 
and Oregon counties. Oregon State University Extension Service offers educational programs, activities, and materials without discrimina-
tion on the basis of race, color, national origin, religion, sex, gender identity (including gender expression), sexual orientation, disability, age, 
marital status, familial/parental status, income derived from a public assistance program, political beliefs, genetic information, veteran’s 
status, reprisal or retaliation for prior civil rights activity. (Not all prohibited bases apply to all programs.) Oregon State University Extension 
Service is an AA/EOE/Veterans/Disabled.
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