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Measure 114 and SB 348 claim to outline procedures to reduce gun violence, to 

ensure a background check is completed on all firearms transfers, and to create a 

database to gather statistics regarding total permit applicants/approved 

applicants/denied applicants.  

Many studies have concluded roughly 52% of suicides nationwide are carried out 

with firearms. If all firearms magically disappeared, would suicides cease to exist, as 

well? Or, would these individuals, requiring professional intervention find other 

means. Would the second and third leading causes of suicide, suffocation at 23% 

and poisoning at 18%, shift to the number one cause of suicides? Meanwhile, the 

underlying condition remains untreated. This comes from Marlene 

Stenbacka,Department of Clinical Neuroscience, Karolinska Institutet, Stockholm, 

Sweden. “Having a disadvantaged background including low socio-economic status, 

parental psychiatric problems, i.e., high rates of depression and substance use, has 

been shown to be associated with suicide. 

Current law (Brady Handgun Violence Reduction Act) requires a background check 

be conducted for all firearm transfers. A provision of the Brady Handgun Violence 

Reduction Act is the FFL holder may transfer the firearm after three days. Emphasis 

on “may”. Most FFL holders will not transfer a firearm after the three days because a 

background check will still be conducted and should the check come back “denied”, 

the FFL holder will have to get Law Enforcement authorities involved and risks having 

the FFL revoked. Unfortunately, due to Measure 114, smaller firearms dealers fear 

they will go out of business and are more willing to risk transferring firearms after the 

three days. Granted, most will only transfer the firearm to holders of a concealed 

handgun license, they still incur a risk. 

As for gathering statistical data, this can already be accomplished. Each firearm 

transfer requires an ATF Form 4473 be completed. This form determines whether or 

not the applicant even makes it to a background check (based on their responses). If 

the applicant does make it to a background check, Oregon State Police, who 

conducts the background checks, can provide the number of applicants in a year, 

how many were denied, and even how many were delayed until further information 

could be obtained prior to a final disposition. This is a matter of utilizing tools already 

at your disposal. 

SB 348 is an infringement on an individual’s Second Amendment right and in some 

cases, denying it outright. SB 348 increases the permit fee to $150 from $65. There 

is no mention of fees for the required firearms training. Currently, NRA basic pistol 

training costs $250. For conducting a background check, Oregon State Police 

charges FFL holders $10 which is handed down to the applicant. Once the applicant 

completes all of the requirements and paid all fees, a permit is issued. The permit 



allows the applicant to now purchase a firearm. Once the holder of the permit selects 

a firearm to be purchased, a second screening of the applicant is conducted through 

the ATF Form 4473. Then, a second background check (required for the ATF Form 

4473) is conducted and a second $10 fee is levied. The average price for a handgun 

is $600. The total cost is, conservatively estimated at over $1000. In light of the 

climbing crime rates in our metropolitan areas, families just trying to make ends meet 

will not be able to defend themselves and exercise their Second Amendment right 

unless they pay for that right. How egregious would it be to apply a training and 

permit process to the First Amendment? If the Second Amendment can be voted 

away under the guise of public safety today, who is to say the First Amendment will 

not be voted away tomorrow under the same claim?  


