

OREGON HUNTERS ASSOCIATION Protecting Oregon's Wildlife, Habitat and Hunting Heritage

P.O. Box 1706, Medford, OR 97501 • (541) 772-7313 oha@ccountry.net • oregonhunters.org

Testimony on SB-348-1 Paul Donheffner, OHA Legislative Committee Chairman

The Oregon Hunters Association, with over 10,000 members in 26 chapters statewide is strongly opposed to SB-348-1. We are law abiding sportsmen and women who use a variety of firearms as the tools of our sport. OHA promotes safe and responsible use of firearms, we support Hunter Education which includes lessons on the safe use of firearms by young hunters, and we mentor youth and first time hunters.

OHA opposed and fought against BM 114. We pointed out the many flaws and problems with that measure, all of which have turned out to be true. Now the Senate Judiciary Committee is trying to "fix" this unconstitutional measure and undermine the court actions pending against this horrible law. Filing a 64 page "gut and stuff" amendment on a Friday night for a hearing on Monday is sneaky and underhanded, but it falls in line with all the other lies and deceptions about 114.

The amendments appear to repeal 114, but in reality it re-implements it and makes it worse. We didn't think 114 could get worse, but it seems this committee is up to the job.

We oppose raising the minimum age for the permit to purchase (PTP) to 21 for all persons once the so called "phase in" in done. We oppose raising the tax for the PTP from \$65 to \$150 and the renewal tax from \$50 to \$110. All of this tax is unnecessary, since the PTP is totally redundant with a second mandatory background check at time of purchase. Or the third background check in the case of CHL holders.

We oppose letting Chiefs of Police off the hook for the PTP. This provision shoves all the residents of municipalities into the same line as unincorporated residents who were covered by their Sheriffs. Now Sheriffs will have many times more work, and wait times will be measured in years, not months.

We oppose extending the processing time from 30 to 60 days for approval of the PTP. What is wrong with the "instant" background check? The Oregon State Police don't even follow existing law. Giving more time is not the answer. Following the law is.

If the Judiciary committee wants to "fix" 114, they should repeal it entirely, period. Or, amend it to make it only apply in the 6 counties that passed it, and leave the rest of us in peace. Or, grant a free PTP to all CHL holders, veterans and anyone who has passed their Oregon Hunters Education class. Think of the savings.

SB348-1 with all the lipstick in the world is still a PIG, and it's not a pretty one. OHA is strongly opposed to SB-348-1 and the way this measure is being forced through the sausage grinder in the back room under cover of darkness. Just VOTE NO.