Oregon Tobacco
Inspections Report

December 2022

Program Description

Oregon law prohibits the sale of tobacco products and inhalant delivery systems to persons
under 21 years of age. The Oregon Public Health Division conducts random, unannounced
inspections of retailers that sell tobacco products and inhalant delivery systems, such as e-
cigarettes, to ensure compliance with state law.

As of January 1, 2022, any business that wants to sell tobacco and inhalant deliver system
products in Oregon is required to get a tobacco retail license from the Department of Revenue.
Tobacco license systems support retailer accountability by imposing effective penalties,
including the suspension of tobacco licenses for retailers who repeatedly violate the law. If an
employee or owner of the tobacco retailer makes an illegal sale during an inspection the
Oregon Health Authority issues a civil penalty to the licensed owner.

In 2027, the new Oregon Tobacco Retail License program
conducted 500 minimum legal sales age inspections.
Violations varied by product type. E-cigarettes were sold more
often to underage persons than cigarettes and little cigars.

Cigarettes 26%
E-cigarettes 29%

Little cigars

Youth marketing

Research shows that if people do not start smoking
before they turn 19, they are far less likely to ever start.
This makes young people key targets of the tobacco
industry. The tobacco industry surrounds people with
marketing and promotes products with flavors that
appeal to youth. While youth use of cigarettes has been
decreasing over time, use of other tobacco and nicotine
products, such as e-cigarettes and small cigars, are still
a concern.

26%

of retailers sold
tobacco to
underage

persons in 2022




Oregon Tobacco Inspections Report

The retail environment Violation rates were highest in
Commercial tobacco companies grocery stores and markets followed
spend over $100 million per year to by vape shops and tobacco stores
market their products in Oregon,

much of it in the retail environment. where flavored products that appeal
Tobacco products are cheap, readil

availableI:md easy to get, afld are g to Youth are sold.

heavily promoted and marketed in Convenience Stores 23%
stores where youth frequent._ Higher Croc ery /Market 37%
exposure to tobacco marketing in the

retail space is associated with Pha-rmacy 0%
increased youth initiation and ongoing Tobacco/Vape Shops 271%

use of tobacco.

Violation rates in Oregon vary by county.

<8%
8 - <25%

. 25 — <50%
- >50%

*Counties in white had no
inspections conducted

Tobacco enforcement and commercial tobacco prevention
Studies show implementation of strong commercial tobacco prevention policies along with
active tobacco enforcement, effective retailer education, and leadership support are essential
to success in reducing youth tobacco use. Specifically, retail licensure creates a straightforward
method for tracking and holding businesses that sell tobacco products and inhalant delivery
systems accountable.

For more information contact: Oregon 2O 1-.] |
Tobacco Retail License Program:

Toacco.lnspections@dhsoha.state.or.us,
www.healthoregon.gov/tobaccoretailsales
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