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Chair Prozanski and members of the Committee: 

 

I realize that it may seem like long ago when the overwhelming super-majority of 

Oregonian first passed Measure 11 (real time for real crime) but it was within the last 

quarter century that voters were given the chance to do what the legislature is asked 

to do - REPEAL MEASURE 11 - and go back to a system where any judge can 

impose any sentence they want for the most violent and dangerous felonies.  

 

I know that Chair Prozanski practiced criminal law before 1994, when 63% of voters 

said they were tired of murderers getting life sentences and serving an average of 8 

years, rapists would either only get sentenced to 2 years in prison, but would often 

serve just months. 

 

This legislature has stated a great concern for racial equity. If that matters to you, you 

should pay attention to pre-Measure 11 (pre-1995) statistics from the Oregon 

Criminal Justice Commission. Those statistics show that in the late 1980s the 

proportion of racial minorities being sentenced to prison was DOUBLE was it was 

post Measure 11. The simplest reason for that was judges were denied a certain 

amount of DOWNWARD discretion for the higher degrees of rape, manslaughter, 

robbery, and kidnappings. Some will point out that there is still a disproportionate 

number of Black men in prison  compared to their part of the overall state population, 

but the reality is that when judges had unbridled discretion, that white middle-class 

men got far better treatment. Measure 11 evened the field, and for that reason its 

most vituperous opponents have been middle class white people. 

 

During the 25 years I served as an elected DA I often spoke to citizens around 

Oregon and a frequent subject of interest was Measure 11. I would often ask what 

they though the penalty should be for a couple not so hypothetical crimes - the rape 

of a 13 year old girl walking home from school by a 35 year old stranger with no 

criminal record. When I asked the audience some would invariably say death or 

some form of medieval mayhem, and I would point out the statutory maximum for a 

class A felony is 20 years. Eventually I would remind them that Measure 11 meant 

that rapist would serve 100 months - 8 years.  Another not so hypothetical would be a 

drunk driver with a couple prior DUII convictions who killed two people in a crash (not 

an "accident") Again many though that person should so life or 30 years, and I had to 

remind them the conviction would be Manslaughter, most likely Second Degree, 

which would mean 6 years in prison, 10 for First Degree. NOBODY ever thought 

these were excessive sentences  



 

I challenge supporters of this legislation to come up with ANY recognized public 

opinion polls that show Oregonians think violent felons are sentenced to terms that 

are too long. If fashioned in a "push poll" I am sure some can craft a question like 

"should a first time offender who never intended to hurt anyone get 8 years without 

parole for a mistake?" when describing a 25-year old man who mows down two 

pedestrians while drunk in his car, 

 

Finally, if members if this legislative body think something has happened that signals 

a sea change in the voters' wishes, then I submit you need to simply re-refer 

Mandatory Sentencing as laid out in Measure 11 to voters. That is a simple vote for 

you, unless you do not want to hear the answer. 


