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WHAT IS A DETERMINATION OF DESCENT

Simplified Probate

= File a Petition with the Court—No Will

= All heirs under intestate succession laws must be listed and provided notice

= Property must be listed

= Publication notice must be given in the local newspaper

= Creditors are barred, so they do not need to be notified

= A hearing is set about six weeks out to give people an opportunity to object

= If no objection, Judge signs the Order and Judgment distributing the property

= Probate finished




EXAMPLE

= Mother dies owning real estate in Klamath County
= She has 3 adult sons
= She has a Will, but it mirrors the intestate succession laws

= The 3 sons decide to wait 2 years after their mother’s death to file a Determination
of Descent instead of a traditional probate

= The Petition gets filed by the middle son 2 years and 1 day later

= The other 2 sons get notice, and a publication is placed in the local newspaper just
like any other probate

= The Court sets a hearing for 6 weeks later




EXAMPLE, CONTINUED

= At the hearing, only the middle son’s attorney shows up to the hearing
= No objection to the Petition is made by anyone at the hearing

= Court signs an Order and Judgment transferring the real property to the 3 sons in
accordance with intestate succession laws

= The Judgment then gets filed with the local Recorder’s Office to notify anyone
wanting to know (i.e., title companies) about the current ownership

= Case closed

= The 3 Brothers can then sell it, buy each other out, rent it out, file a partition action,
use it as a vacation home, turn into a campground, give it to a charity, or anything
else they desire




WORKS FOR ANY TYPE OF PROPERTY

= Real Estate

= Bank Accounts

= Retirement Accounts

= Life Insurance Policies
= Cash

= Precious Metals

= Stocks and Bonds

= Personal Property

= Etc.




ADVANTAGES

= Fast
= Whole process takes about 6 weeks

= Cheap

= Most attorneys in Kansas charge about $1,500.00 to do one, plus publication and filing
fees

= Easy
= A person could probably even do it without an attorney

= Bars Creditors
= They have 2 years to make efforts to collect

= Allows Heirs to Inherit More
= Due to creditors being barred and low administration costs

= Reduces/Eliminates need for litigation, further reducing administration costs




COMMON CRITICISMS

= Is This Fair to Creditors?
= Creditors still have the right to file a creditor’s estate within 2 years of decedent’s death

= Do I Still Have to Pay Estate Taxes?
= Still have to comply with Oregon and Federal Estate Tax laws

= Can I Discharge a Secured Debt Through This Process?
= This process will not discharge a secured debt

= Can You Disinherit a Beneficiary Listed in a Will?

= This process cannot be used if the decedent’s Will says something that is different from
intestate succession (i.e., cannot sit on a Will to disinherit a step-sibling)




LIKELY OPPONENTS

= Insurance Companies
= They will have to do more work to pursue subrogation claims

= They will likely have to file more creditor estates

= Credit Card Companies

= They will no longer be able to rely upon small town probate lawyers to notify them that
one of their debtors has died

= They will have 2 years to take action

= Probate Lawyers
= Going to impact their bottom line

= Process is so easy, so fast, and so cheap
= As a result, they will be less in demand




ANY QUESTIONS?




