
                                      
 

 
     
 

 
Contact:  Mae Lee Browning, OCDLA Legislative Director, mlbrowning@ocdla.org, 310-227-7659 

TO:  Senate Committee on Judiciary 
FROM: Mae Lee Browning, Oregon Criminal Defense Lawyers Association 
DATE: March 10, 2023 
RE: OPPOSITION TO SB 340  
________________________________________________________________________ 
 
Chair Prozanski, Vice Chair Thatcher, and members of the Senate Committee on 
Judiciary: 
 
My name is Mae Lee Browning. I represent the Oregon Criminal Defense Lawyers 
Association. OCDLA’s 1,200 members statewide include public defense providers, private 
bar attorneys, investigators, experts, and law students. Our attorneys represent Oregon’s 
children and parents in juvenile dependency proceedings, youth in juvenile delinquency 
proceedings, adults in criminal proceedings at the trial and appellate level, as well as civil 
commitment proceedings throughout the state of Oregon. Our mission is championing 
justice, promoting individual rights, and supporting the legal defense community through 
education and advocacy. 
 
OCDLA STRONGLY OPPOSES SB 340. This bill: 

• Is unnecessary. Between the repeat property offender statute (ORS 137.717) and 
BM57, there are already huge sentences being handed out for property offenses. 
The state can already aggregate multiple transactions against the same victim for a 
180 day period. 

• Will subject more people to potential prison sentences. 
• Will cost the state more money for public defense. Defense attorneys would 

need to travel to multiple counties to conduct basic investigation of Theft in the 
Second Degree charges, which will be very costly from a time and travel 
perspective.  

• Will result in more people charged with crimes being held in jail with no 
public defender to represent them. This bill will make some misdemeanors 
felonies, which would require a felony-qualified public defender to handle. We have 
a shortage of felony-qualified public defenders. 

• By adding a new offense to the repeat property statute, SB 340 will create 
more work and use up more resources at every stage of the criminal 
proceeding for these cases. When a client is facing a prison sentence, it takes 
more work (e.g., evaluation, treatment resources, investigation, etc) to attempt to 
negotiate with the prosecutor and prepare the case for trial. 

• Could result in more people being sent to the Oregon State Hospital. 
 
This bill would make a giant mess of discovery, which the defense already does not 
receive in a timely fashion. Discovery across counties with multiple victims over a year 
long period would be next to impossible. The crimes would be investigated by multiple law 
enforcement agencies, meaning that there would be police reports from different 
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jurisdictions. The DDA would be responsible for tying all the offenses together, which 
would undoubtedly be problematic. 
 
SB 340. SECTION 1 - This change would allow the state to prosecute a defendant in any 
county where one offense occurred when there were multiple cross-county offenses within 
a 180 day period against the same victim. This is meant to protect corporations, not 
Oregonians. It would be incredibly rare that this would actually apply to someone other 
than a corporation. This will allow the state to forum shop for the harshest 
jurisdiction to prosecute a defendant. E.g. If a defendant shoplifts from Fred Meyer in 
Portland and Washington County, the state would combine it and prosecute in 
Washington County.  
 
This will lead to people being subject to multiple, illegal prosecutions due to lack of 
coordination between DA's offices and city prosecutors. There are already instances 
in which, due to poor communication, both a city and a county will file charges on the same 
incident. These eventually get dismissed, but often not before the defendant has been 
summoned to court and possibly had a warrant issued. It's easy to envision how this 
change will create that scenario on a broader scale: County A prosecutor charges a 
defendant with Theft in the Second Degree, but later dredges up another theft in County B 
and charges them for Theft in the First Degree. Defendant pleads out and thinks 
everything is done. Meanwhile, County B prosecutor, who is unaware of the prosecution in 
County A, charges the defendant for the same conduct. The defendant then misses court 
on the County B prosecution, gets arrested, goes to jail, and is forced to prove that they 
already pled to the conduct. Proving the double jeopardy issue that will fall on the 
defense bar to sort out, since judges and prosecutors will likely ignore defendants 
saying "I already took care of that in County A.” 
 
This does not make sense from a practical sense either, since the witnesses in these 
cases are loss prevention officers (LPO’s) who work in the stores where the offenses 
occurred. Thus, the state would be requiring the witnesses and the defendant to 
travel to another jurisdiction, just so the state can have a judge that will sentence 
defendant to the maximum sentence. 
 
This could also cause problems with supervision, since the jurisdiction of supervision 
is where the conviction occurs. While there can be an exception if the person has a stable 
residence in another county, that would not help transient or housing-insecure individuals 
who would then be forced to live in a jurisdiction for supervision, just because one of the 
offenses they committed occurred there. 
 
SB 340. SECTION 2 and 3 - Adds their organized retail theft to the BM57 (137.717) 
framework on tier 1 with Burglary and Aggravated Theft. It is disproportionate and unfair 
to place this offense in the same category of Burglary in the First Degree, 
Aggravated Theft in the First Degree, and Aggravated ID Theft, which all involve 
more serious conduct or twice the value of "Organized Retail Theft." 
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SB 340. SECTION 4 – This section amends Theft in the First Degree to include thefts 
where the defendant recklessly engages in conduct that creates a substantial risk of 
serious physical injury to another person. This can turn a Class C misdemeanor Theft in 
the Third Degree into a Class C felony Theft in the First Degree because of a risk of 
serious physical injury - i.e. someone may not have even been injured. In the 
scenarios where the "risk of serious physical injury" is legitimate, it is already covered by 
another felony (Robbery). This change would also result in LPO's using excessive force in 
many more situations.  
 
SB 340. SECTION 5: Amends Organized Retail Theft to extend the period of aggregation 
from 90 days to 180 days. This will obviously capture more behavior and result in 
stacking up more charges. 
 
SB 340. SECTION 6: Creates a yearlong aggregation period for theft, regardless of 
whether the same or different victims. This is beyond absurd. This essentially transforms 
theft into a status offense--instead of prosecuting people for stealing, the state can now 
prosecute them for being a thief, with the value, and corresponding offense level, unrelated 
to any specific instance of conduct, but instead ratcheting up based on the aggregate of 
thefts committed in the course of a year. Practically speaking, the cases that come out of 
this will be a mess. It's easy to envision a single theft charge based on thefts committed 
in different stores, which are in different cities, and investigated by different law 
enforcement agencies. That will make discovery a mess, since defense attorneys will have 
make sure the DA is gathering and providing them with the variety of police and LPO 
reports. In terms of resource usage, this is going to lead to longer and more 
complicated trials, since prosecutors will have to call a parade of LPOs and cops to get 
to their desired aggregate value. This will also lead to more trials, since the evidence 
making up a single theft will vary in strength, and it will often be worth going to trial on the 
theory that defendant did these 3 shoplifts (worth $750), but not the 4th one, where the 
evidence is weakest (worth the final $250), so they should convicted of a Theft in the 
Second Degree instead of Theft in the First Degree. 
 
SB 318 establishes two general funds for addressing organized retail theft. The first is for 
"programs" that address the issue and can be granted to cities/counties, community 
organizations, or the department of justice. There is very little substance regarding the 
goals of the fund. There should be a preference for programs that divert cases out of the 
criminal legal system and seek to address the issue without further investment in law 
enforcement. The bill also needs to define "organized retail theft," so that it actually 
targets subjects that are organized, and not those simply desperate to feed 
themselves or their substance use disorder. The second fund, which appears to be a 
blank check, goes to law enforcement to deal with this issue.  
 
OCDLA urges this Committee to NOT PASS SB 318 and SB 340. 
 


