COLUMBIA COUNTY

Board of Commissioners Office

Commissioners Margaret Magruder Kellie Jo Smith Casey Garrett **Administration** Jacyn Normine Kathy Coddington **Communications** Mark Pacheco



ST. HELENS, OR 97051

230 Strand St., Room 338 Direct (503) 397–4322 Fax (503) 366–7243 columbiacountyor.gov

February 24, 2023

Chair Golden, Vice Chair Girod and members of the Senate Committee on Natural Resources,

Columbia County Commissioners urge your support of Senate Bill 795. As a Forest Trust Land County we continue our efforts to support good management of the Oregon State Forest. We have encouraged and advocated for management to achieve the greatest permanent value of our state forest land as was the agreement when the Counties deeded the land to the State.

The Forest Trust Land Advisory Committee (FTLAC) is charged with advising the Board of Forestry and the State Forester on matters related to state forestland managed by ODF. The input from the FTLAC has not been given due consideration in the HCP process. The economies and community stability of the Trust Land Counties are at risk if the proposed HCP is allowed to be implemented. Harvest levels are projected to fall from sustainable harvest goals to less than a third of that amount.

SB 795 would allow for the return of these lands to the counties, if they choose that option, allowing the county to secure the greatest permanent value from these lands to support the services that our citizens require.

Thank you for your consideration.

Sincerely,

Margaret/Magruder

Casey Garrett County Commissioner