Submitter:	Todd Ward
On Behalf Of:	
Committee:	House Committee On Rules
Measure:	HJR5

Dear Members of the House Committee on Rules.

My Name is Todd Ward. I am a life time Oregon resident and life time Oregon hunter like my Father and Grandfather before me. I am 55 years old. The privilege to hunt and fish in our great state has been ingrained in me since day one. My family has been blessed to consume the wonderful bounty of this state, almost on a daily basis. Elk, deer, and antelope have been our main fare. While also raising and processing my children's 4H animal projects. All of this has been done with the upmost respect for wildlife and domesticated animals alike. Hunting and Fishing is a right that I have instilled in my daughters as my Father and Grandfather have instilled in me. Through this right and privilege we help fish and wildlife management by way of purchasing tags and licenses right her in our state. Through the purchase of firearms and ammunition we help wildlife via the Pittman-Robertson Act. If our Hunting and fishing right is not made permanent, wildlife will lose out. This would be do to the banishment of hunting and fishing and subsequent eviscerated funding for wildlife management. In Addition to lost funding from banishment of hunting/fishing and tag/license purchases. There is an important aspect of hunting and fishing, in our state, that may be overlooked. All hunters in are state are required to attend and pass a Hunter's Safety Course. I did when I was 11 years old as did both of my Daughters. During these days of troubling gun violence

and accidental gun death, Hunter's Safety Courses drive home a very very important lesson. Treat each and every firearm as if it were loaded and always point a firearm in a safe direction.

All we need to do is look back on recent history to see the benefit of Hunter Safety Courses. In particular, Alec Baldwin and his tragic killing of a coworker on set. Always Treat A Firearm As If It Were Loaded And Always Point It In A Safe Direction! This is the gospel taught in Hunter Safety Courses in Oregon. Hunter Safety is required by Oregon law to purchase a tag and license. A license and tag is required to hunt and fish in Oregon. This right must be made permanent in our state. For the obvious stated reasons.

Please consider my written testimony when making your decisions.

Thank you for time and service

Sincerely, Todd J Ward