Business Filing Technical Changes

HB 2108

BACKGROUND

We build trust between the people of Oregon and our state government so that public services can make a positive impact in peoples' lives. The Corporation Division directly supports Oregon businesses and ensures registration processes are fast, simple, and easy as possible. It is the first stop for business and provides relevant information on government requirements for starting and operating a business. Small businesses are the heart of Oregon's economy.

The Office of Small Business Assistance, seated within the Corporation Division, helps small businesses and nonprofits get started and serves as an ongoing resource. The Division strives for continuous improvement in areas around efficiency, technology needs, and staffing levels, to meet the needs of our customers.

Over 500,00 businesses are actively registered with the Corporation Division, and within the last year there has been close to 85,000 new business registrations.

The current authority that the Secretary of State has under ORS 56.080 requires a 20-day period of time and written notice for the filing office to withdraw a business filing that was filed incorrectly. This has been an ongoing frustration for business owners and for the filing office. Because of the strict requirement in the Statute, it cannot be fixed in rule.

Revising ORS 56.080 to remove the 20-day period that our filing office has to withdraw an incorrect filing will make the business filing process more efficient for business owners and our filing office.

HOW HB2108 NUMBER HELPS OREGONIANS

This technical change makes business registration processes more effective and timely for our customers and Division staff.

